Daily Archives: November 17, 2010

The Crazy In Progress

Over the last few weeks I’ve had the chance to go back to working on a little set of designs that I’ve had on the brain since the summer, and have been able to sink into properly now that the knits of the summer and early fall are finished. It’s going to be a set of 3 mittens/gloves, in a sort of mini-collection, all using Indigodragonfly merino/cashmere/nylon in different weights.

All I really needed to go on were Kim’s colourway names. This project idea lodged itself in my brain back in May at the Toronto Knitter’s Frolic, when I picked up a skein of the MCN sport/dk in a deep dark purple called ‘Not Another Teen Vampire Movie,’ and then a little later on when I snagged a skein of the MCN sock in a deep dark red called ‘Happy Goth.’ Clearly, gothic somethingorothers needed to be made with these.

Nov16-OzMitts

So then I emailed up Kim and said “hey, you know if I had a skein of the MCN worsted to complete this set, we could have a nice little gothic mini-collection going.” And she said “Oh yes, something dark and blue/green, maybe for Oz. Definitely not Jacob. Oz.” And so these mittens are coming along nicely in his colourway labelled “Hootenanny – Well it’s chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny.”

We may, in fact, be a little bit crazy about this. But I’m willing to bet we are not the only knitters who walk around with characters from Buffy the Vampire Slayer on the brain, and it works just fine as a design inspiration, so no matter. I’m still mulling over the final pattern names, but in my head, they correspond alternately to Drusilla, Oz, and Willow (for the vampire, werewolf, and witch contingents). And if nothing else, well. Delicious merino/cashmere gloves and mitts for all. I am enjoying this little project and am aiming for a winter release when they’re all finished. I just love knitting gloves, they are so satisfying in the end, and mittens are just as satisfying while also being quicker to knit.

In other news, I’ve finished the stockinette portion of my Elizabeth Zimmerman fair isle yoke cardigan, and am now pondering the sleeves, and the diversion of placing some colourwork panels down near the cuff. It’s never a dull moment here at Knitting To Stay Sane, I tell you what.

I hope your warm and wintery knits are going well! Stay warm.

22 Comments

Filed under design