Daily Archives: December 15, 2010

No time for unfinished objects

I am trying as much as possible this week to alternate busy-ness with knitting work, in an effort to end the month of December with fewer unfinished projects (or at the very least, a different set of them) than what I have now. Thus, I am just about ready to start on the yoke of my Elizabeth Zimmerman yoked fair isle sweater that I had meant to complete in November (though Lisa reports she has also chosen to “observe Novecember” in completing a project or two belatedly, so, cool. Novecember is my new favourite knitting holiday).

So I was happy to get a quick hat and cowl done last week. I don’t usually knit with super chunky anything, but dang, getting a slouchy cowl and beret out of 3 skeins of yarn in 2 days is pretty darned awesome. And since i had to walk out this afternoon to deal with the post office and other annoyances, I took the opportunity to at least get a quick photo-shoot out of the deal. [And as an aside, this almost-Solstice winter light is trippy. It's like there are three settings: late-afternoon bright (but at any time of day), cloudy, or full darkness.]

Dec15-Beret1

The beret is the Speedy Cabled Beret, modified to add an extra cable repeat so that it is genuinely more beret-like than cap-like. I blocked it out over a dinner plate for good measure, and I’m happy with the final result.

Dec15-BeretCowl3

The cowl is simply 76 sts of mistake rib (Mutiples 4, work Row 1: *k2, p2. Row 2: *p1, k2, p1.), worked on 10mm needles until I felt like it was a cosy enough height. It’s pretty nice all crumpled up around my neck under my coat at the moment, but I suspect when the temperature decides to be something warmer than -15C, I’ll be comfy wearing it more loose and drapey. All in all, not bad for a quick pair of winter accessories. If I can manage to make myself a pair of lined mittens I’ll be extra pleased.

Dec15-BeretCowlFO

And, because there’s a lot of snow on the ground around here and I just can’t help myself, here. Another Simon’s Cat video, just for the occasion.

Happy winter knitting!

12 Comments

Filed under accessories