Daily Archives: January 22, 2011

Knitting tourists have more fun

I’m spending this weekend at the Vogue Knit Live event in New York City, the first event of it’s kind from VK (but as we already know, not the last – they are planning more), and it’s been a lovely getaway so far. Fellow Toronto area knitter Lisa is my partner in crime, who emailed me up last August and said “hey, I’m pretty much thinking about going to this,” and I could see no logical reason not to join in. Knitting workshops AND a weekend in New York? Sign me up.

It’s a fun time in all the exact same ways that going to a weekend of knitting workshops is fun (learned a bunch of increase methods from Meg Swansen, check. Bought some sock yarn, check. Exchanged Ravelry usernames and met some new friends, check. Compared Eddie Izzard jokes with Fiona Ellis, check check), except that there is the bonus of being able to run off to the MoMA or walk through Central Park on your lunch break, because all of New York City is right there too.

Jan22-VKL-Colourwork

Jan21-TimesSq

Every time I attend a knitting event, I feel as though my general foundation of knitting knowledge is elevated, but more than that I always come away with a better appreciation for the depth and breadth of knowledge there exists within the world of knitting, and the capacity of knitters to explore it to the degree that fascinates them. Geek on, knitters, geek on.

Jan22-BijouBasin

Jan21-MoMA

There’s one more day of adventures for me today, so I’m going to get back out there and make the most of it. Catch you on the flip side, knitter friends!

Jan21-MoMA-Kandinsky

14 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism