Daily Archives: February 1, 2011

She who hangs out in graveyards

I’m not sure where the last week has gone – somewhere in a haze of knitting, fatigue, real-world job and catching up on movies, I blinked and it was suddenly February 1st. February already? Really? We’re a month into the New Year already? Well, if you say so. But also, if it’s only just February that means that in my part of the world at least, we’ve got 2 if not 3 more months of cool weather ahead. More than enough time to keep knitting mittens and gloves.

Jan15-OzDrusilla

Way back last May at the Knitter’s Frolic in Toronto, I bought a skein of merino/cashmere/nylon yarn from Kim at Indigodragonfly Yarns. It was a dark, gothic-looking colour named “Not another teen vampire movie.” So naturally, that was coming home with me. I started pondering what to do with 100g of DK and settled on gloves, and soon started adding up in my head that Kim works with three different weights of merino/cashmere/nylon yarns, and wouldn’t those all be wonderful to wear around your hands? I certainly think so. I had the gothic theme all planned out, and was considering vampires, and before I knew it Kim was off and running dyeing colourways and naming them all after characters from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and taking pre-orders for full kits of the ‘Buffy Collection’ as it was being called by the fall.

Jan15-Willow1

Well, the final ends were woven in at the end of 2010 and I finally managed to get out for a photo shoot last month, and now the patterns are available for you, dear knitters. I present to you the ‘Midnight Collection’ – three patterns all inspired by the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and the vampires, werewolves, and witches therein. I would hazard to say this is not the last time I’ll turn to this world for design inspiration, especially if Kim keeps up dyeing these awesome colours, but for now I have to say I’m very pleased with this set. All 3 patterns are available individually from Patternfish or Ravelry (links below) for $5-6 each, or from Indigodragonfly Yarns as patterns or as full kits. Also, if you are a Ravelry member or are purchasing from Indigodragonfly, you can get all 3 patterns for $12, essentially 3-for-the-price-of-2. How’s that for a great deal?

Jan15-Drusilla1a

‘Drusilla’-inspired Gothic Gloves are a simple pattern for women’s gloves, with that touch of vampire at the cuff. They are written for both DK-weight and fingering-weight yarn (in case you are deciding between warmth or light elegance), and come in 2 sizes. This pattern uses twisted stitches and some basic cable twists, and uses a chart.

Jan15-Oz4

‘Oz’-inspired Midnight Mittens, are an Aran-weight mitten pattern written in one size, suitable for both men or women, featuring a toothy, textured pattern over the back of the hand. These are ideal for warmth as well as speedy knitting! This one also makes use of a few basic cable twists, slipped stitches, and knit/purl texture, and also uses a chart.

Jan15-Willow3

And finally, the ‘Willow’-inspired Nightblooming Mittens, are where you can show off your mad knitting skills in a lighter, fingering-weight mitten, with plenty of leafy vine cables blooming across the hand. Instructions include charts. These also come in 2 sizes and would be fun to modify as fingerless mitts also, as a variation. These, I have to say, might be my favourite of the whole collection.

Months after this crazy Buffy-knitting ride began, I’m very glad to finally show them off to you.

Gothic Gloves (for Drusilla, and other lady vampires)
On Ravelry | On Patternfish
Midnight Mittens (for Oz, and other werewolves)
On Ravelry | On Patternfish
Nightblooming Mittens (for Willow, and other witches)
On Ravelry | On Patternfish

Jan15-OzWillow3

I’m also very grateful to my test-knitters for their generous help in working on these patterns and helping to make them better: Bridget, Drea, and Jacqueline of the Purple Purl knitters. Thanks, ladies!

Happy knitting today, whether you are knitting fannishly or otherwise! And stay warm.

20 Comments

Filed under design