Daily Archives: March 16, 2011

Screw the Ides

My current circumstances are, by some measures, less than ideal. I’m coming to the end of an employment contract which may well be my last gasp of teaching in academia, I have no idea where my next paycheque will be coming from after it’s done, I live beneath a landlady who walks as though she’s attempting to divot the floorboards with her heels, in the summer when I move back home I’ll be leaving behind the very cute yarn shop and friendly knitters that I’ve become acquainted with this past year, and between being sick, being stressed, being below my landlady, and dealing with daylight savings clock-changing, I haven’t gotten a solid night’s rest in weeks. And while I’ve never yet actually hidden under the covers with a bottle of wine, that plan is starting to seem more and more reasonable.

And yet, I do live in a part of the world which is not literally falling apart.

It’s been rough trying to absorb what’s happening in Japan over the last five days, not least because it could have been so much freaking worse. The quake that flattened Haiti a year ago was a was a two-orders-of-magnitude-smaller one, so. Damn. Cold comfort to say the least. But that doesn’t change the fact that things are rough for a lot of folks in Japan right now, at the same time as things continue to be pretty rough for millions of others around the world dealing with disease and risk and everyday problems that have nothing to do with seismic tremors. And I’d hate to also be living in circumstances that didn’t let me help do something about that.

All this is a roundabout way of saying that, from March 16th-March 31st, all of my pattern sale profits will be donated to charity – split between Doctors Without Borders/Medecins Sans Frontiers, and the Red Cross. (Note: I will, as always, be giving to the unrestricted funds. Shit is going down everywhere.) That’s about 60% of sales through Patternfish (if that link doesn’t work, do a designer search for Glenna C), and about 80% of sales through Ravelry (give or take, depending on the pattern price). (Last year I did 100% of sales, and as much as I’d love to do that again, I’ve gotta be realistic and be able to pay the support fees. I’ll give as much as I can.) People get knitting patterns, good folks get cash to help, and I get to do more than just sitting and watching the news, so it’s a win-win-win. I’ll be sure to report back after the end of the month on how much cash I’ll be forwarding.

In any case, I hope you and your corner of the world are doing well, and that your yarn is there for you at the end of the day. Knit on!

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized