Daily Archives: March 30, 2011

Geeking out

Knitters are such resourceful people. I mean really, have you ever thought of the number of ways we ‘make do’ with things and carry on with substitutions and other ways of working and measuring and counting? Take a poll, I bet everybody’s doing something different from the next.

Case in point, last night at knit night, Naomi was using a particularly fun row counter.

Mar30-RowCounter

It only works up to about 8 or 9, but still. Respect for the cross-hobby geeking, yo.

Then later this afternoon I went by the shop and a few of us just sat there knitting and sharing fun YouTube links. (Note: I highly recommend this as a cure for what ails you. It does not disappoint.) How could I not share a sampling with you? Perhaps some autotune-meets-Carl-Sagan-and-philosophical-science? (Also Naomi’s offering, props. And I have astrophysicist parents, sometimes I gotta toss something out there for them.)

And if nothing else, I hope your own knitting geekery gets some time this evening. I know I’m ready to reel in one finished object, and hopefully another soon afterwards. Which means, of course, getting to start something new, and what’s more exciting than that?

Happy Wednesday!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized