Daily Archives: May 6, 2011

This time with sparkles

Two years ago I put out a little sock pattern into the world, one that I was geekily proud of. I almost didn’t publish it because I honestly worried that it was far too geeky to bother with, and that nobody would want to take it seriously.

I needn’t have worried. It turns out that over 160 knitters (at least by Ravelry numbers) have knitted the Viper Pilots socks (still available for download on Ravelry and Patternfish), so that means that if it’s far too geeky a pattern to be bothered with, at least 160 other people besides me have decided not to care and just knit it anyway. And no mistake, it’s a challenging pattern. My first impulse in design is often for the insanity. (Throw more cables on there! What do you mean those stitches aren’t worked through the back loop, twist them, damn it!) In this case, I was validated in my twisted cable selections because I’d managed to match up some motifs together in a sock that went really well with the whole idea of a Battlestar Galactica themed knitting pattern. There was no way these things were going to get named anything but Viper Pilots. Little ships flying through space!

May6-ViperPilots

Then a little while after the pattern release, Steph knitted herself a pair using sparkly sock yarn. And frak me if that wasn’t the most brilliant idea ever that I was annoyed with myself that I didn’t think of it first. Ever since then, I’ve wanted to go back and knit myself a second pair with sparkles in it, and I haven’t managed to get around to it what with, you know, jobs and other knitting and life and getting sleep and meals and things like that. But I’m trying this new thing where I actually use some of the yarn that i buy, after I buy it, as opposed to just letting it sit beautifully on the shelf, and I came home with some Shiny sock yarn (merino/silk/nylon/silver) from Indigodragonfly Yarns this past weekend at the Knitter’s Frolic. (Colourway: Also I can kill you with my brain. A Firefly reference, not BSG, but the geekery still stands firm.) So, here we go, sparkly Viper Pilots shall be mine. I’m making this my 30-minutes-a-day project for the moment, in an effort to ensure some of my personal knitting time is not lost amidst the other fun design projects I get to sink my teeth into in the next couple of months, as well as getting reacquainted with my stash (it’s an awesome yarn stash). There’s just so much fabulous yarn to knit, I want to do it all at once. Some of it gets done 30 minutes at a time.

Happy weekend, dear knitters!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized