Daily Archives: June 13, 2011

Stop the madness

There will come a day, hopefully one day very soon, when I am not stubbornly transfixed by selecting colour combinations of Knit Picks Palette for potential colour-work designing. I am very sorry to announce that so far, today is not that day.

June13-Palette

I keep endlessly shuffling them around, deciding “okay this time for sure” that I’ve got it, swatching it up, then not being entirely happy with it and trying again. I think that this time I might have it…but then check in again tomorrow morning and we’ll see about that.

June13-Palette2

This weekend as a change of pace from that, and distraction from the fact that I am still not back onto running and need to figure out what the hip woes are actually all about (show me a runner who can’t run and I will show you the dictionary definition of the word “miserable”), I allowed myself to be kidnapped by knitters into the city. On Friday it was ‘Drunken Knitters’, a monthly gathering of Toronto knitters in a pub, which I always mean to come in for and almost never actually do. Just in case any of you think I am the only one cracked enough to take on colour-work or lace while under the influence, I can reassure you there were knitters present doing both of these. This includes Michelle, who was working away on stranded mittens on 2.0mm needles, and pausing between sips of Guinness to pet her progress happily.

June10-DrunkenKnitters

I hung out some more at Lisa’s and got some free kitty cuddles, visited the Purple Purl, and knitted a bit. I met up with Jane who, fresh from a visit to the camera store for new toys, stuck a hat on my head and took pictures of it. As one does, when one hangs out with knitters.

June11-JanePhotos

June11-Socks

When next we meet, I hope to have solved the colour decision, or at least have moved on to another set of knitting decisions. Happy knitting! Keep the yarn close by.

12 Comments

Filed under colour-work, design