Daily Archives: August 8, 2011

Returned

If you should ever have the opportunity to attend a 4-day knitting conference (convention? I can never decide which one Sock Summit actually is), followed by a 6-day trip to San Francisco, I do recommend it. It’s especially recommendable if you can find knitters to visit with while you’re doing it, because that means that by the time you hit the tourism wall and say “I think I’m done cramming myself into lines with other tourists to take pictures of the same things other people are cramming themselves into lines to take pictures of,” you’ll have people around who will say “Okay! Let’s go have coffee/ice cream/beer/dinner/wine/things covered in cheese and sit/knit/chat/all of the above” instead.

I mean, an extended fun-time vacation also means that re-entry is going to be just that much harder, but I’m topped up on creative inspiration to keep my knitting wheels turning for a little while, and am excited to return to discover that all those fun projects I was meaning to get to in August are still waiting for me.

Aug4-SightGlass

Aug5-FerryBuilding

Although I do have to say, it was in that state of mind on Friday morning that I discovered the Ferry Building really is awesome. I had a cup of tea and sat for like an hour, then browsed the bookstore and shops. Can I do that every day?

The last few days of my San Francisco jaunt were spent thusly, having coffee and wandering the Mission with Stephen and his two sweet French bulldog gals, kidnapping Jacquie to Oakland for Homeroom mac & cheese (I recommend the one with garlic), finding Erin in Berkeley to drink beer and talk geography and then wander the UC campus, and visiting A Verb For Keeping Warm just when they were having a reception with Cookie A and Anne Hanson.

Aug4-Homeroom

Aug5-Verb1

And then on Saturday Liz drove us wine tasting in Napa, which I probably don’t need to tell you was pretty great. It really helps to be visiting friends who do not at all need convincing or persuading to do the same things you like to do. (Then we saw the Harry Potter film a 2nd time, to, uh, soak up the characters. yes. Not at all to stare at Neville’s sweater some more. No siree.)

Aug6-Wine2

Aug6-Wine4

So now my job is to pretend I’m not jet-lagged long enough to get some laundry and cleaning done, catch up on emails, and figure out what I’m doing this week. I’m a little concerned that August is already one week done, but will do my best to catch up.

Knit on! Catch you again soon.

8 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism