Daily Archives: September 11, 2011

Because a little more yarn never hurt anyone

Around these parts, the beginning of September means not just the return of fall but the return of the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitter’s Fair! A whole bunch of fantastic vendors from Ontario and beyond are out in full force to support the knitting needs of the thousand or two knitters who drop by for the day, and it was once again a pretty great time yesterday.

I went with my mother and sister and we each did pretty nicely. My haul was a bit more modest than in past years, but I did come away with enough Manos worsted to knit a sweater, which I’ll hopefully pull out before too long and put into action for my Rhinebeck sweater knitting. It’s too delicious to let sit in the stash!

Sept10-KWfair

Sept10-KWfairYarn

I think I ran into almost every knitter I know. (Almost). But since I know there were a few knitters from far and wide not there, I’ve got a super snazzy treat for you in the form of a blog giveaway! It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, and thanks to the super generous folks at Van Der Rock Yarns, one of you could be the proud owner of a kit (pattern and yarn) for this fun and retro Winged Nike Capelet.

The kit I’ve got to give away is in the pale pink Bismuth colourway, although Stephanie was wearing hers yesterday in the bright green Gypsum shade and it was pretty great. It’s really quite an inventive knit. It uses a double strand of laceweight and has an interesting feathered look to it, thanks to Stephanie’s ingenuity in trying to recreate in knitting a similar stitch she’d seen done in crochet. I appreciate that kind of knitterly geekery, man, I really do. It has a sort of comfortable retro look to it.

Sept10-VDRcapelet

Sept10-VDRcapelet2

To enter to win, just leave a comment on this post, telling me what excites you the most about knitting! I’ll draw a winner by noon (my time) on Tuesday this week.

And happy knitting as always! Have a great Sunday.

163 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized