Daily Archives: September 13, 2011

Knitting on

I really want to thank all of you for your comments on my previous post; I know the enticement of a giveaway is strong, and I love it when so many folks come out of the woodwork to say hello! If you haven’t done so already, I really recommend going back and reading through the comments, to see what people find exciting about their knitting. I am inclined to agree with a lot of it – there is so much to learn and continue to be challenged by, and there is a lot of pleasure in seeing your completed works unfold in front of you when, just a short time earlier all you had was a few balls of yarn.

And sometimes you watch a half a season’s worth of Castle episodes and look down at your knitting to find that you suddenly have almost your whole first sleeve of your sweater done. (Not that I’d know about that or anything. But if I DID, I’d certainly be happy to report that the Gwendolyn cardigan is proving to be quite an enjoyable knit.)

Sept13-GwendolynSleeve

I am working on this in Cascade 220, in a lovely teal blue heather that I found on sale earlier this summer. I like getting the sleeves of a sweater finished first if I can help it, because that makes the body feel much more satisfying to know that it’s almost the end. It’s great to be working from yarn before it has the chance to become hidden too deeply in the stash, and I look forward to wearing the final product this fall.

But to close up the full content of the last blog post, I’m happy to report the winner of the blog giveaway! The random number generator came up with 75, which by my reckoning corresponds to commenter “stargirl” on September 11th. I’ve sent her an email and will be sure to get the kit off in the mail soon.

Blog drawing

Thank you all so, so much for your comments, and I’m sure I’ll do another giveaway again sometime soon! Have a great Tuesday knit tonight, wherever you may be.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized