Daily Archives: December 17, 2011

Discoveries

Today I remembered that I had this box waiting in my closet for just this time of year:

Dec17-Corks

Which is full of these little guys, mostly knit a few years ago, and waiting to scurry off and decorate the house in little groups:

Dec17-Corks2

And you know what else I found? I discovered I have another full shoebox that looks like this:

Dec17-Corks3

 

(Some of these may well still be among those sent to me from a friendly blog reader who wanted to help me out by re-housing her cork stash to me. Thanks, Melissa!) Now, I’m not making any promises as to how many more little corks will soon find themselves wearing knitted hats and sweaters. But it’s coming up on wacky holiday season, and a girl needs a little distraction every so often, and one of these takes maybe half an hour if you’re quick, and I’ve got worsted-weight scraps in my leftovers stash that are just waiting to be put into action.

And if at this moment you’re now wondering if you have any corks around the house, or are possibly entertaining the thought of opening a bottle of wine just to get the cork, then, well…my work here is done. ;) (The pattern is thanks to another ingenious knitter, and is available for free here, if you’re so inclined.)

Happy knitting this weekend!
.

.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized