Daily Archives: June 22, 2012

I’ve heard that sometimes people also eat popcorn

Last night I caught a late-run showing of ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’, which aside from being extremely delightful (will happily watch Ewan McGregor and Emily Blunt doing cute any time they want to repeat), gave me the chance to get most of the way through my second sock of the pair that has been my travelling-around-in-my-handbag socks for the last couple of months. These are Socks That Rock Mediumweight, in ‘Amelie’, which turns out to look just as nice in sock form as it does in the skein.

June22-Socks3

I did my usual 3×1 ribbed sock pattern, but on 60 sts instead of 64 to accommodate the heavier weight of yarn, since STR Mediumweight is closer to a sport than a fingering weight. I suspect I could probably get away with 56 sts, even, but these turned out nice and cozily and there was yardage to spare, so I like ‘em. I have started to enjoy adding a few pairs of slightly heavier socks to my collection, because there are some days in the winter or just when hanging out around the house when I want a little extra comfort. Plus, there is the added advantage that the heavier yarn you use, the quicker they are to knit.

June22-Socks1

These are also my favourite thing to have on hand for the movie theatre (provided I’m not on the heel, which I like to be able to see when I’m doing it), because it’s approachable for working in the dark. People often ask how I could possibly knit in the dark (generally, I do still watch the movie screen unless I really need to check something – in such situations it’s handy to be watching something with bright explosions or sunny deserts, just a tip from me to you), and I promise you it really is as simple as just knitting in the dark. If you’ve been knitting for some length of time and are comfortable working plain stockinette or ribbing, you can knit in the dark.

Trust me, your hands know what they’re doing because they have done this probably thousands and thousands of times already. Give it a shot and see what happens – chances are you’ll find yourself becoming more aware of what a knit stitch feels like underneath your fingers as compared to a purl stitch, and you’ll be able to tell which is coming next. Probably, if you regularly watch television while you knit, you’ve practiced this already many times, just with the advantage of sitting in a well-lit room. But the more you practice knitting while not looking at your knitting, the more likely you are to avoid things like accidental dropped stitches, because your hands will register the mistake before your eyes do, and you’ll catch things like that sooner.

Of course, mistakes do still happen sometimes. Inevitably my movie-theatre socks end up with a few mis-matched moments where the ribbing doesn’t line up because I was actually, say, paying attention to the movie more than the knitting (go figure), and I get little blips like this. I always leave them there. Then I can think, “oh yeah, that’s from when I was sitting in ‘The Avengers.’ That sure was a fun movie.”

June22-Socks4

The nice part about being finished with a pair of socks is that I get to pull out yarn for the next pair. I might just slide another Socks That Rock pair onto the needles, or dig a little bit in my stash. It’s always great to end the summer with some new pairs of socks that are ready and waiting for you in the fall.

Since we’ve past the solstice I suppose we can officially say summer is here. What are your grand (or not so grand?) knitting plans for the summer? A person can accomplish quite a few projects in two or three months – no time like the present to get cracking!

28 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks, knitting in public