Daily Archives: October 11, 2012

New Pattern: Chatelaine cardigan

I’ve been a bit remiss here on the blog, in that I haven’t formally introduced you to my latest self-published pattern. Allow me to rectify that, and present the Chatelaine cardigan, available in my Ravelry store or on Patternfish.

This is what happened with that delicious pile of ‘sequoia’ coloured Madelinetosh Tosh Merino DK I purchased back in the summer – I decided it needed to be a nice fall cardigan, and am very pleased with the results! Allow me to thank Bridget from Needles in the Hay in Peterborough, for some on-location knitwear modelling a few weeks ago, I think she looks super in the cardigan.

Sept22-Chatelaine4

Chatelaine is a fitted cardigan with waist shaping, mostly stockinette (back and sleeves are all stockinette after the ribbing) with some fine cable details on the front panels. The scoop neck is just modest enough to keep you comfortable, and the button-bands and collar are all worked in twisted ribbing for a touch of elegance. Full sleeves are also just the cozy thing for fall. Everything is worked in pieces from the bottom up and then seamed together in finishing.

Sept22-Chatelaine3

This is suitable for DK-weight wool, at a gauge of 21 sts over 4 ins in stockinette. A relatively quick knit that doesn’t add too much bulk. My goal was to design a relatively simple cardigan that would still be a little bit dressy enough to wear around town. I really like how it turned out and am pleased to share it with you.

I’ve got more orange sweater knitting to do (and others), but I’ll be back tomorrow with a giveaway post for you courtesy of Canadian Living magazine. Have a wonderful Thursday, everyone!

*

*

33 Comments

Filed under design, finished object: sweater