A good colour for winter

So, about a month ago we had a pretty decent cold snap around here. In Southern Ontario we do generally spend a few months at or below freezing, and then the rest of the country gleefully mocks us for whimpering about it, but winter last year was so mild that I can’t even remember whether we even had any snow at all. And then after a while it was April and the sort-of-winter oozed into probably-for-sure-spring, and we forgot about cold weather for a while. Well, back in January we spent a week hovering around -20C, even during daytime temperatures once or twice, and I think even the rest of Canada hesitated a little bit before rolling their eyes at us. -20C is chilly.

I retaliated the only way I could – bundled up in as many knitted things as possible, and ordered a sweater’s worth of bulky yarn in bright red. I remain pretty comfortable about that decision.

Feb25-Uji

This is Cadena from Knit Picks, in the ‘cranberry’ colour. It’s the exact same yarn and colour I used earlier this winter to knit my Cosmopolitan Set, and I love just about everything about it. It’s a great colour, it’s so warm, and the bit of alpaca blended with the wool gives it the slightest hint of sheen in certain lights and I love it. Since it’s a bulky yarn it also knits up relatively quickly, which means that after only a week of extremely intermittent work on it, I’ve got almost the full back of a sweater finished. I’m working away on the Uji cardigan jacket from the Winter Twist Collective and am really enjoying it so far.

Feb25-Uji2

The only disadvantage with a project like this is that the frequent cabling plus big yarn on big needles turns into a lot more mechanical effort than I’m used to with worsted weight yarn or lighter, and I’m finding myself having to rest my arms a bit more often than I’d like. But still, it’s going to be the coziest sweater ever, and even if spring suddenly decides to show up before I finish it, I’ll be pretty content having it finished in my closet for next season. It’s never the wrong time to start a new sweater!

And speaking of new sweaters, I’ve got a couple of new patterns to show off to you, but I’ll save that for my next post. Have a great Monday!

Pattern: Uji, by Ann-Marie Jackson
Yarn: Knit Picks Cadena, in cranberry

*
*
*
*

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “A good colour for winter

  1. Susan

    Love that color, but right now working on a prom dress…yikes.! Also tried spinning…kind of like it. Back to the machine. Thanks Glenda

  2. Wow, the colour and yarn is amazing. Your sweater is looking amazing. Makes me want to cast on for it too!!

  3. i knit a sweater in that yarn many moons ago. i love the cabling in yours, and you’re right about the sheen. it looks gorgeous! can’t wait for the final pics…

  4. Wow, what gorgeous work! I really love the way it’s coming out. That yarn shows off the stitches beautifully.

  5. jeanette

    Your sweater looks wonderful!

    I have been reading your blog for several weeks now. I’ve been trying to catch up on your archived posts, starting with June 2006, and have finished July 2010. I’ll be caught up very soon.

    I’m not nearly the knitter that you are, but I’m working on it. I don’t expect to become a designer, just a good knitter.

    Could you help me with a sock question? I’m new to socks and can’t figure out why the ankles are too big when the sock fits well between the cuff and the ankle. I have two patterns for 7″ or 8″ legs before starting the heel, and neither pattern requires any decreasing at the ankle. I’m only about 5 1/2″ on the leg now, and I can already see that the ankle of the sock is going to be loose. My ankles are not unusually thin. If I decrease too much, the sock won’t go over my foot. What can I do? I’m using Patons Kroy Sock Yarn for their Jacquard and Stripe sock pattern.

    Thanks bunches.
    Jeanette

  6. That color is really perfect for the winter blues. I’m feeling more cheerful just looking at it :) It’s not that cold here in Boston, it’s actually starting to warm up which means it is DAMP. I’m coveting your sweater coziness.

  7. That there is my favorite color ever. I found some corduroys on sale in that color and I can’t wait for all the winter yuck to melt here so I can wear them without fear!
    Sweater looks beautiful. Can’t wait to see the FO!

  8. THAT is just luscious — both the color and the squishy, cozy looking knitting. Can’t wait to see the finished product! (And yes, I agree that there is never a bad time to start a sweater. Especially at the rate I knit. :/ On the flip side, summer in my town can be hot/humid/not so great for playing with wool. But that’s mostly just July and August. I can work with that. ;) )

  9. loulouandlillybean

    That is a great color! One of my favorites as well and I love that sweater pattern with all those cables. Very pretty!

  10. You have to be joking “…The only disadvantage with a project like this is that the frequent cabling plus big yarn on big needles turns into a lot more mechanical effort than I’m used to…”
    The disadvantage I would have with a project like this would be
    (1) Following the pattern
    (2) Keeping track of the rows
    (3) Getting beyond the purl and knit stitches that I know who to do.
    I could list ten other “disadvantages”.
    This is a wonderful project and you are blessed with a great talent to be tackling it.
    The color is perfect for winter.
    Thank you for posting this.
    Take Care.
    Jose

  11. I love bulky knits ! The color you have chosen is a perfect match for the design and I can’t wait to see it finished!

  12. Gayle Clow

    Just gorgeous, Glenna. Texture, cables, yum. How I wish I could wear that colour. And who’s to say we won’t have a cosy-jacket-worthy spring! Gay

  13. What a gorgeous color! And the pattern sets is off beautifully. If that sweater doesn’t brighten a frigid, dreary winter day…..nothing will! Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  14. Alas this is a disadvantage unrelated to skill, but to fatigue – snug bulky cables add more strain to one’s hands and arms and for myself at least, it’s a project that needs frequent breaks. The results are indeed beautiful, though.

    G

  15. Gorgeous color and so “February” — the pattern looks beautiful too!

  16. Oh! I love that colour! You are going to be so cozy and warm and brilliant when you wear it! :)

  17. That color is perfect for winter, it cut through all the gloom outside.

  18. love that color! I too started a bulky dark red cable sweater this winter – pulled it all out, but i loved it, and will fix the pattern and redo it – red cables are luscious!

  19. This is lovely. I love the yarn you’e used too. It compliments the stitch pattern beautifully.

  20. it is a great colour
    so warm and beautifull, makes you forget about winter