Daily Archives: March 24, 2013

The cure for March

Last Friday some Toronto knitter friends took a day off and came and picked me up and we drove off in search of yarn and wineries. As you might imagine, it was a very long, hard day. (Note: it was not actually a very hard day.) It occurred to me that it was almost exactly a year ago that I did virtually the same thing with Elspeth when she visited here for a week – our trip included Niagara Falls instead of wineries, but hey, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

I think everyone has just generally been suffering from “March.” We’re all tired of our winter coats, tired of cloudy chilly days (days that, were they to arrive in November we would totally think of as harsh and foreboding, but in March we are seriously considering how much we still need the winter coat because dear God don’t make me put that same coat on again), and overall wanting something different to snap out of it. So when a gal gets a message saying “hey, we’re going to look at wineries and yarn on Friday, you in?” well, there really is only one answer to that question.

We tasted some wine…

March22-Wine1

…had delicious lunch (and pie)…

March22-Lunch

…and tasted more wine.

March22-Wine2

(We were really very discerning about the wine).

March22-WineTasting

Through sheer luck and awesomeness on the part of a local alpaca farm, we ended up getting to see a tiny little baby alpaca. (Admittedly, the mama was less interested in us).

March22-BabyAlpaca

And then to finish the day, we bought some yarn. (At Stitch, in Jordan Station, and also a visit to The Fibre Garden across the street).

March22-YarnStitch

And to top it all off, I got to finish my Chilly Podster mitts, which I haven’t managed to photograph for good yet because they’ve taken up swift residence in my handbag to be worn while it’s still winter.

I hope you’re having a good weekend, knitterly friends! Until next time.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized