The cure for March

Last Friday some Toronto knitter friends took a day off and came and picked me up and we drove off in search of yarn and wineries. As you might imagine, it was a very long, hard day. (Note: it was not actually a very hard day.) It occurred to me that it was almost exactly a year ago that I did virtually the same thing with Elspeth when she visited here for a week – our trip included Niagara Falls instead of wineries, but hey, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

I think everyone has just generally been suffering from “March.” We’re all tired of our winter coats, tired of cloudy chilly days (days that, were they to arrive in November we would totally think of as harsh and foreboding, but in March we are seriously considering how much we still need the winter coat because dear God don’t make me put that same coat on again), and overall wanting something different to snap out of it. So when a gal gets a message saying “hey, we’re going to look at wineries and yarn on Friday, you in?” well, there really is only one answer to that question.

We tasted some wine…

March22-Wine1

…had delicious lunch (and pie)…

March22-Lunch

…and tasted more wine.

March22-Wine2

(We were really very discerning about the wine).

March22-WineTasting

Through sheer luck and awesomeness on the part of a local alpaca farm, we ended up getting to see a tiny little baby alpaca. (Admittedly, the mama was less interested in us).

March22-BabyAlpaca

And then to finish the day, we bought some yarn. (At Stitch, in Jordan Station, and also a visit to The Fibre Garden across the street).

March22-YarnStitch

And to top it all off, I got to finish my Chilly Podster mitts, which I haven’t managed to photograph for good yet because they’ve taken up swift residence in my handbag to be worn while it’s still winter.

I hope you’re having a good weekend, knitterly friends! Until next time.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “The cure for March

  1. What a wonderful day!

  2. Gayle

    I’m suffering less “March” just reading about the day. Thanks.

  3. Pat

    Sounds like a perfect day. We do the same kind of search out here in the Northwest, There are wonderful wineries and yarn shops to seek out here
    too.
    Thank you for the reminder.

  4. sounds wonderful! I hear you about March and coats. If it si only snowing a little, I want the coat in teh car with me, but maybe not ON me. :-)

  5. Susan

    Sounds like a lovely knitterly day.

  6. That sounds like such a great day! And today here in Ohio we are expecting 5-8 inches of snow in the next 24 hours! Where is Spring?? I wish it would hurry up!

  7. The baby alpaca is the cutest EVER!
    Sounds like a lovely day :)

  8. Enjoyed your post so much, I really wish to experience a really cold winter, Zambia has a lovely climate but very little cold weather, on rare occasions when its 8 degrees celcius we are all wrapped up …lol

  9. Sounds like a very pleasant getaway! Yeah, here too in Quebec we can’t take winter anymore :( Have a great week!

  10. That looks like an awesome day!

  11. Awww its a widdle baby alpaca!!!! :)

  12. Laura s.

    Winter is still in full force in Minnesota. I am really tired of chopping ice. A hot bath and curling up with the latest pairs of socks I am knitting is the only cure for the winter time blues.

  13. Ah! THAT’S what March is all about!!

  14. Yarn and wineries?!! What a great idea! I’m taking notes… : )

  15. Now that’s a day WELL SPENT!!! No matter what month it is! :-D

  16. Ooh, less March would be brilliant. LOL at the coat, I’m also tired of wearing thick cords most days, and not being able to keep my feet warm at work! Sounds like a great day. I visited a LYS near me for the fist time on Saturday and came home with a skein of Malabrigo Arroyo in Candombe to cheer me up!

  17. Now that sounds like a terrific day trip! It’s still chilly in Chicago, too — I’m so sick of my long down coat.

  18. there might have been some slight squee-ing going on as I saw that tiny little alpaca.

  19. Ooh, wine tastings <3 We had a lovely evening with a friend at Berliner Kaffeerösterei (yes, here in Berlin, Germany) tasting wines paired with chocolate. Divine!

  20. Erin

    Any day that includes Stitch is a rather perfect day as far as I’m concerned! Thanks for sharing your day!