Other kinds of work in progress

For the last year and a half or so I’ve been expanding my digital photography skills through courses at the local college, and it’s been a useful exercise to say the least. My photography has certainly improved and it’s been good to get out and be forced to practice new techniques in order to complete assignments. (Some days this is also a frustration. Often this frustration overlaps with days that also involve poor weather or fatigue, interestingly enough.) It’s also been a useful exercise in learning that is both very applicable to knitting (creative processes are always mutually beneficial no matter what they are, also I get to take better knitting photos than I used to), while still being potentially not related to knitting at all. Some times a knitter just needs something altogether different to infiltrate her time, even if it takes time away from the knitting.

This week I finished up a course on Urban Landscape/Documentary photography, and my chosen subject was Bay St. in downtown Toronto. The final project had 25 photos in total as a photo essay, and I thought I’d share a few of my favourites with you here.

11BayAdelaide-CyclistB

22AirCanada-PeopleB

8BayKing-PeopleCornerB

5FrontStPedestriansB

Photo1-UnionStation

3TTC-ReflectionB

Rush Hour

What other creative pursuits compete for your time alongside knitting? I definitely hope it’s something fun. Until next time, knitter friends!

*

*

17 Comments

Filed under photography

17 responses to “Other kinds of work in progress

  1. Jeanette

    I am taking a teddy bear making class so I can make a gift for a friend who is expecting her first baby this summer. Fun, but not as much fun as knitting.

  2. Wow, your photos are stunning! I have crochet and gardening compete for my knitting time and I’m about to learn beading. I also sew occasionally but I have very limited space so I usually knit instead!

  3. Love the pics – all those people and traffic tho makes me glad I don’t live in a city! xxx

  4. There is something about that third picture in particular that I just love. I think the juxtaposition of the motion of the car and the stillness of the people works really well.

    As for creative pursuits, I got more serious about photography around the same time I learned to knit. Both compete for my time, but as it turns out, they are complimentary.

  5. I do flower arrangements inspired by Ikebana technique, hoping that this kind of work helps me improving the view of form and texture. Participating at a photography course is certainly very helpful in order to improve one’s personal blog style. I confess I NEED to appoint myself as well to such a course. I’ve been to Toronto neither to New York or other big cities in North America. So for me seeing this pictures proofs: yes Toronto is a Metropolis and possesses its typical urban life. Maybe it could be interesting for your next time photo shooting to look for motives that marks out what Toronto distinguish to other Metropolis. This are just my 2 cents and please don’t be annoyed or offended. I follow your blog with great interest and I just wanted to add a comment in a constructive way. Kindest bjmonitas

  6. Wow! Your pictures are stunning. I think if I had to picture a favorite – and it would be a hard thing to do – would be the one with the city scape reflected in the bus windows. I too divide my time between knitting, photography, crocheting and writing. Keep up the blog – and the photography – I enjoy them both.

  7. Your photos make me wanna go back to Toronto! Love the one with the reflection in the bus.

  8. kelly

    nice shots, some really nice compositions. I notice the yellow and bits of color. Thanks for sharing!

  9. I am learning photography too. I am really impressed by the one with the reflection of the city on the bus! It is stunning!

  10. Renee C.

    I had to go back and look at the one of the bus to see the reflection people were talking about!! Because when I looked at that photo all I was thinking was “Holy smokes, she was awful close to that bus”. But this comes from a person who won’t cross the street in a city unless there is a sign telling me it is safe to do so. Growing up in a town with a pop. of 425 and now living in a “big town” (pop. of 4,500) makes for a very skittish country bumpkin.

  11. Toronto is one of my favorite cities in the world. Thanks for sharing these pictures!

  12. Photography is definitely my *other* favorite hobby. I’ve loved watching you expand your skills and have fun with it. The shot with the BMO building is probably my favorite of the ones that you shared – something about the contrast of motion and stillness. Unfortunately, lately I’ve spent more time practicing my knits and purls rather than my aperture and ISO, but hopefully I’ll get out and shoot more in the spring.

  13. A great group of photos. I’m also into photography and I love quilting. I wish I didn’t have to work so I could split up my day doing what I like.

  14. I have a basket of crochet–african flowers/hexagons, I want to make a baby blanket. And cupcakes. I love to bake cupcakes, though I’m not great at it. But it makes me happy and my teenage boys don’t care how perfect they look as long as they can eat them. :)

  15. I take photos as well and I bake. Having discovered that I apparently am wheat intolerant has opened up a whole new world of gluten free baking, and it really isn’t as bad as I though (actually you can rarely taste the difference).

  16. Holly

    That is a great collection of photos!
    I too enjoy photography, as well as scrapbooking and sewing, along with my knitting. I have yet to do a photo study on a particular theme, but with my work I get into some interesting places (like building rooftops, or old gutted buildings) that present some neat photo opportunities.
    Keep up the great work! would love to see more sometime :)

  17. sharon

    Ooh, I love the last one. And I am digging the pops of color in all of your city photos, very nice.

    Digital photography is going to be my next passion. Saving up for a good camera. Using the $ I make teaching knitting! :)