Green space

You know how sometimes, when it’s winter (that is, if you’re a person who lives in a place which experiences winter), and the winter starts to get grey and cloudy and snowy and goes on for a long time, you then realize that you can’t in any way fathom knitting something that resembles the colour of the outside world?

I do not have that problem with spring.

May25-Socks

Bring me ALL the green sock knitting, I am enjoying it immensely. I’m onto the second sock of my current ribbed socks (Socks That Rock mediumweight) and even though I’m also still only about 25% of the way through the Jaywalkers that are also on the needles, I’m already side-eyeing the other green sock yarn in my stash for what other green socks I could make next. It’s green outside, bring on the knitting greenery too, I say.

May25-UrbanCollectionFinal

I have another green thing to show you soon (as well as a not-green thing), namely the final two pieces of my current Urban Collection (Ravelry link). They’re so, so close to being ready to be released into the world – one of them has been finished for quite a while but the other has just taken a bit longer than anticipated to find its way – and my patience can only last so long, so here’s a quick sneak peek. These folks just need a bit of photography and final formatting attention and then they’ll be yours next week, I am looking forward to it.

I hope you’ve got some sunshine this weekend, and some great knitting time. Until next time, knitting friends!

Pattern: A Nice Ribbed Sock (on 60 sts instead of 64)
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock mediumweight, ‘enchanted forest’

*

*

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Green space

  1. jeanette

    Glenna, your entry today shows a link for the nice ribbed sock with 60 stitches (instead of 64), but when I open the link, it says to cast on 64 stitches.

  2. Hi Jeannette – yep, this is because when I use slightly heavier sock yarn (like the STR mediumweight), I cast on fewer stitches than I would normally use. ;)

    G

  3. Now that is a gorgeous green!!!

  4. FoFo

    Very nice socks and I really like that green and purple together!

  5. Oh, that green! It is so beautiful and alive. I can see why you are enjoying it so much.

  6. I’m in love with all these beautiful colors! Can’t wait to see what two pieces you are adding to the Urban Collection. The sneak peak looks very exciting!

  7. Ah! Love the sneak peek! Looking good!

  8. Linda

    Looking forward to what’s on the other end of the sneak peak!
    And, you don’t want to hear about our gorgeous California weather!

  9. Well that’s because green is the best color

  10. Angela Hickman

    Over half my sock drawer is green, and I suspect it’s for this very reason. That green is gorgeous!

  11. I LOVE knitting green too! :)

  12. I definitely get the green obsession. Enjoy it!

  13. Lovely projects, both! I am looking forward to seeing that shawl…the edging looks very pretty! ;-)

  14. I love the green!

  15. I have the opposite experience, living on the Gulf Coast. I get inspired to knit but it’s too hot most of the year to wear anything I knit. :\

  16. I have been gravitating towards green lately too.. This happens to me every spring :P

  17. Actually, green is my favourite color, all seasons :)