New Pattern: Surfacing

June19-Shawl3b

I’ve got a new knitting pattern to show off to you this week, although it’s actually been out and about for a week already, since it was one of the last tasks I completed before heading off on my Paris jaunt last week. This is a little luxurious accessory-sized shawl called Surfacing, and is available here on my Ravelry store and ¬†on Patternfish as well.

A little while ago Sundara invited me to design something in the latest yarn in her ‘color commentary’ series, and lo and behold the yarn was none other than a gorgeous skein of sky-blue fingering weight silk cashmere. I don’t think I need to tell you how wonderful it is to work with yarn like this.
June19-Shawl2b

While this little shawl could easily be worked up with other fingering weight yarns – and it makes a lovely single-skein project as it is – the silky cashmere really needs very little extra work to show it off properly. It’s soft and elegant just on its own, and even just knitting simple stockinette is an enjoyable experience with yarn like this. So, in designing this shawl I worked to come up with a pattern that would convey some simple elegance as well as the sentiments of the colourway name, ‘peace’.

June19-Shawl5b

This is a shallow triangular shawl, worked in the traditional style of triangular shawls with eyelet increases at the end and centre of each right side row, back and forth from the top down. The feathering pattern used at the border is a simple yet effective 2-row pattern that may be repeated for as long as you like, or until you’ve got just enough to finish the last few rows of garter stitch and bind off at the edge. It’s ideal for a summer accessory, but I can see this being just as delightful as an any-time indoor accessory in the fall and winter.

June19-Shawl7b

Thanks, Sundara, for the special treat of working with your yarn.
Enjoy, knitting friends! And I’ll catch up with you more later this week.

*

*

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “New Pattern: Surfacing

  1. Linda

    Oh how I love these scarves but have absolutely no idea how to make one. is there any way you could actually do a video tutorial on making one of them from the beginning ?

  2. That’s beautiful, now on my ravelry queue!

  3. The shawl and yarn are gorgeous. This pattern is going in my cue.

  4. The color is beautiful and the lace is perfect.

  5. Linda A

    Lovely pattern, Glenna!
    I’ve been working on a 100% cashmere shawl. “Working”? Wrong word.
    I never want this pleasurable experience to end. Imagine working with a cashmere/silk blend would be equally as satisfying.

  6. Lydia La LA

    A lovely shawl and most beautifully knitted. Love your work!

  7. That is a lovely shawl – it looks fabulous on.

  8. So, so pretty! I love the sheen of the yarn, and the pattern is the right combination of elegant and not too fussy.

  9. Beautiful in its elegance and (relative) simplicity. Nice work!!

  10. Genia Potter

    Wow. Just, wow!

  11. Pip

    It’s beautiful! Love the sky blue yarn too :)

  12. Beautiful! I love this, and the color is gorgeous!

  13. This is lovely. The lace edging is very attractive. And doesn’t look TOO intimidating!

  14. Amazing job of pairing the pattern to the yarn. I can just imagine the elegance!! Love it.

  15. Love it! Would you say this is a relatively easy project to work in public on? It looks like it would be.

  16. Pingback: I see your true color | youngmanknits

  17. Pingback: Seven days, seven links | Knitted Art