Daily Archives: July 5, 2013

Finish before starting

In the almost-week since I’ve been back from my trip I’ve been diligently trying to work away at the active projects on my needles before starting anything new. For the first time in a very, very long time, I have no known design deadlines on my plate, and it is a very freeing thing to just be able to knit on whatever I feel like and be a regular knitter-at-large for a bit. I know other design projects will come into the mix soon enough, so I’m attempting some self-restraint and not immediately casting on three new sweaters and two shawls, strong though the temptation may be.

For one, I’ve still got the current pair of Jaywalkers on the needles, and thanks to a fair amount of plane knitting time last Saturday am now well into the second one. (It turns out nobody in airports on either end of the trip blinked an eye at my knitting needles. Just don’t try to bring shampoo or lotion or anything really suspicious like that, though, phew.) I like these and will be happy to tuck them away for winter and am happily eyeing my sock yarn stash for the next pair.

July5-Jaywalkers1

Before Paris I also started a new pair of Charlotte St. Mitts for myself, since I wanted another pair of them for my accessory basket ever since I finished the first one, and it turns out I had some wool/cashmere blend fingering weight yarn all stashed up. Yea verily, I finished up the cuff of the second one yesterday, and now just a few woven ends and a wash-and-block are all that stands between me and a finished project. I still have another full skein of yarn and may even do the full set and work up a matching cowl to go with.

July5-CharlotteMitts

Still, new projects are calling my name and I think something else will get onto the needles this weekend. I’ve been eyeing my stash more and more lately and look forward to spending some time with it! After all, there’s not much point in collecting sweater quantities of yarn if you don’t cast one on every so often.

What’s new (or soon to be) on your needles this weekend? I hope you’ve got a nice refreshing adult beverage to go with it. Happy knitting!

*

Pattern: Jaywalker, by Grumperina
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘skyway’

 
Pattern: Charlotte St. Mitts
Yarn: A Verb For Keeping Warm Annapurna, in ‘magic bean’

*

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized