Daily Archives: July 9, 2013

Digging deep

July9-JaywalkersSkyway2

So, here’s the thing. Now that I’ve suddenly revived my affection for the Jaywalker sock pattern, I’m not sure I’m going to be able to stop any time soon. I mean, I’m still going to knit other things besides Jaywalkers, of course, but it turns out that finishing one pair means that I just have to cast on a new pair right away. A few years ago I knitted myself a full week’s worth of Jaywalkers (plus a couple of extra), and you know, I think I might need a new week’s worth of them. Plus, I’m a firm believer in following your knitting-obsessed brain where ever it wants to lead you at the time, so bring it on, I say.

July9-JaywalkersSkyway1

I finished up my green pair last week, along with my Charlotte St. mitts, and I took the opportunity to dig deep into my sock yarn stash for the next pair. This is more Lorna’s Laces shepherd sock, in a limited edition colourway from the original Sock Summit in 2009. Yep, this stuff is 4-year-old stash. Old enough that it’s almost hard to start knitting it up, because then it won’t be stash anymore. If it was a cheddar cheese I’d almost be thinking about saving it for weekend wine & cheese, rather than just any old snack time. I even took a few moments to lovingly photograph it in its skeins, because once you wind it up then you don’t have it in pretty skeined form, and isn’t that sort of a shame?

July7-LLsock

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the colourway is called ‘vampire tea party’, showing off a nice gothic dark grey-and-red combination. Also unsurprisingly, I am just as enamoured with the name as I am with the actual colours. And since I had a mostly dark colourway come off the needles, I’m happy to turn to a slightly bright colourway for this next pair. It’s nice to have variety in the sock drawer, after all.

July9-JaywalkersVampire

Sweaters and swatches are also getting back into the mix though, for sure, so I’ll be sure to report more on that next time! I hope you’re staying cool in the summer heat (at least, if you’re in a northern hemisphere clime), and that you’ve got some fun knitting to think about this week. Happy knitting!

*

Pattern: Jaywalker, by Grumperina
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘skyway’ (completed) and ‘vampire tea party’ (in progress)

*

*

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized