Around and around

August around these parts can be a bit of everything when you’re a knitter. It’s close enough to fall that you’re well within your rights to begin casting on sweaters, since finishing them around the time the weather turns cool is actually now a possibility. At the same time, we’ve got at least a month of summer temperatures on the calendar around here, so by all means lace shawls are still on the docket too.

Also around these parts, a few months ago we got a new local yarn shop (local to me in Hamilton, that is – we’ve got others in the area and certainly lots in Toronto, but this is one that I can actually get on my bike and be there in 20 minutes, I can’t even stand it it’s so exciting), and in July I taught a beginner lace class there. Among other things, I brought my own circular Pi Shawl as a sample, and somehow by the time the class was over I had convinced them to do a shop knitalong. Pi Shawls for everyone!

Aug7-PiShawlProgress

They carry several different kinds of sock-weight/fingering-weight yarn at Handknit, so there’s a nice range of choice to make a Pi Shawl that is still a little on the lighter side but will be cozy when folded-over double. The Pi Shawl is circular, and comes with a few variations of plain stockinette, eyelet rows, or more intricate lace panels, so it offers a nice repetitive project for new lace knitters. It’s also good for transit knitting, since you’re just going around and around and around until it’s done.

Mine’s in Malabrigo Sock, and even though the knitalong hasn’t officially started yet, I had sort of started a fantasy world wherein I finish this before the knitalong start on Sunday, then, uh, I start another one. What can I say, knitting is nothing if not a rich fantasy life.

Aug7-PiShawl2

The construction of the circle, as written, happens by doubling the number of stitches every time you double the number of rounds (after 3, 6, 12, 24, etc), and so it starts out very quickly. But eventually, of course, you reach the stage where you have almost 600 sts on the needles all at once, and that’s where I am now. When it’s (one day, hopefully soon) off the needles, it’ll be a gorgeous airy circle, but while it’s still on the 24-inch circular, it more closely resembles a bunched up jellyfish. I’ll get there, though, perseverance is key.

Around and around, and onwards. What are you knitting on this week? I hope you’re in a place to get something finished this month.

*

Pattern: Pi Shawl (July shawl), directions in Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmerman
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock, in ‘ivy’

*

*

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Around and around

  1. Pip

    It’s lovely! Looks like it might be in Aguas.. looking forward to seeing the FO :)

  2. Melissa

    makes me want to start a Pi shawl too! Love the colors in yours.

  3. LizFM

    I have a couple of Pi Shawls in my queue (haven’t done one yet), but the current knitting are both triangular shawls (one for work knitting, one for home knitting.

  4. I just picked up the border stitches for a baby blanket. A very large baby blanket. So I’m in the similar round and round boat with you!

  5. Thea

    Loved your purple Pi. Think I’ll dive into the stash and start one myself. How much fingering do you guess would yield a 60 inch diameter shawl? Or do you know of any resources that might give guesstimates of yardage to final diameter?

  6. For me this week it’s an illusion blanket. The Mona Lisa. I agree knitting its a fantasy land in more ways than one

  7. Love the Pi. I have just started your Empire Ave. Cardigan which I would like to get finished by the end of the month just so I can get some wear out of it before the weather changes and I need to wear something that is warmer.

  8. Angela Hickman

    I am embracing the cooler weather and knitting your Burrard, a warm wool sweater that you had the sense to design in pieces, so it doesn’t all have to be in my lap at once. I am loving it, but you are tempting me into shawl territory here…

  9. I am busy with hand sewing a quilt right now, but am starting to feel the itch to pick up my knitting needles again soon.

  10. Sharon Jones

    Oh wow, your shawl is gorgeous, I love the colour and everything about it, I think I shall have to knit one. Presently I am knitting socks, making golly wogs, and piecing a couple of quilts.

  11. Linda A.

    You know, Glenna, I’m just lovin’ your writing, your imagination, and
    gettin’ your ‘knit on.
    Keep it going.
    It’s good for all of us.
    Linda

  12. Beautiful shawl and I love the yarn!

  13. Hmmm, I’m trying to finish a shawl design prototype (but not sure it’s how the “real” one will be knit, so slowing down of course) and knitting another version of my Filigree, this time for me. I’m not quite ready to think about fall, so my Honey cardigan is still in the basket under the desk.

  14. My project isn’t near six hundred stitches but the two hundred I’m knitting now (all in stockinette!) seem pretty heavy. Wow! You’re most impressive, I must say.

  15. I’m working on the Impressionist Vest by Meghan Jones in a really pretty purple in Classic Elite Waterlily. It’s a vest, but I’m going to put short sleeves on it.

  16. I love the licheny like green yarn…..

  17. Gotta love the bunched up jelly fish stage. Or in the case of the BSJ, the stage where it resembles a knitted manta ray. (What is it with EZ’s patterns and the sea life refs?) That green is stunning — can’t wait to see what it looks like done!

    And yes, please keep knitting and writing and designing. The number of your designs I want to knit at some point is slightly embarrassing. But they’re all so PRETTY.

  18. At least it’s a very pretty jellyfish.

  19. So pretty! I love the color and sheen of the yarn, and I’m now intrigued by Pi shawls. That EZ was a genius.

  20. I would very much like to know where you are teaching knitting, because I would love to attend if I could. Shawls are beautiful for fall; I can just imagine walking around in the crisp air with an over-the-head shawl around the shoulders. I love the green colour; it is a pretty choice. :) Keep posting! 1 suggestion, though – could you maybe put some tutorials on your blog, for beginners like me? It’s difficult to find good knitting teachers, and I would love to learn from you.

  21. Pingback: I just need something simple | KnitPicks Staff Knitting Blog