Piece by piece

Since February I’ve been knitting my Uji cardigan in bits and pieces of time, and knitting friends, it is almost done. I’ve kept needing to put it down in order to give time to other projects, and then of course there was a while towards the end of spring when it was hard to find the mojo to work away on a bulky all-over cabled cardigan (when one is realistically several months away from ever being able to wear it).

Aug24-Uji1

Also, allow me to admit to you nice folks out there in blog land, that I keep having to stop and correct dumb-ass mistakes. The pattern itself is lovely, and actually relatively un-complicated once you’re in the swing of things. But it’s happened that I’ve been knitting this mostly in hour-long stints after dinner when the rest of the day is complete, and it’s entirely possible that not all of my brain cells have been in play at all moments. I finished the second cardigan front only to realize that I’d done the body a totally different length before the armhole than the first front was, and then ripped and re-knitted to fix it.

Aug24-Uji3

Sept2-FrontFinished

Then, as I was starting up on the button-band (which here is knitted vertically, in a separate piece once the hem ribbing has been completed – body and band are worked separately from that point), I realized that the very first button-hole i’d placed at the hem (and therefore well beyond the point of ripping out since it would require ripping out the entire front piece by then) had been placed entirely wrong and was going to end up looking funny. And while I don’t generally tend to button my cardigans all the way to the bottom, I couldn’t really live with myself if I let that go.

So I dropped down several rows from the start of the band, reworked the whole button-hole (this involved a bit of Macguyvering-level reverse-engineering of the row involved, then re-picking up all the dropped down stitches – imagine something like this cable fix, but for a button-hole re-do), and then re-started the band. (I’d like to tell you that I photographed it, but some times a girl just has to get the thing done). Then I finished all the blocking of the final pieces, and thought for a moment that the top neckline scoop was a very different length on each side, except when I went to start the re-do on that, it actually all looked just fine.

Aug31-Washing

Aug31-Blocking

And so I’m now merrily seaming away and starting on the collar, and you know, I just might get this sucker done. I’m tucked in at home for the evening on the last day of a long weekend and I’m going to get finished as much as I can. Then some time later this week I’ll go off in search of buttons. And when it turns chilly in a month or so, this cozy cardigan jacket will be waiting.

Soon. Sooooooon.

Aug24-Uji2

Happy knitting this week!

*

Pattern: Uji, by Ann-Marie Jackson
Yarn: Knit Picks Cadena, in cranberry

*

*

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Piece by piece

  1. Very pretty. I stress big time if I have to go back to fix a mistake. I envy those that can just quickly rip out rows and then get it all back on the needle. Usually I undo a stitch at a time. Holding my breath until it’s done….

  2. Zeeknits

    Congrats on managing the whole complex buttonhole fix in situ. Looks fabulous. If its cool enough you could wear at Twist Collective fashion show to kick off DKC season on September 18th

  3. Angela Hickman

    I was just looking at this pattern on Ravelry and wondering to myself “I wonder if Glenna ever finished hers…” And here’s my answer! It is such a gorgeous colour, and it will be perfect when the weather starts to turn. I can’t wait to see it all seamed and done!

  4. What a beautiful colour – it looks great so far!

    http://www.mancunianvintage.com

  5. Gorgeous, do you ever wonder how many cardigans you would have knitted if you brought all the re-knitting you end up doing together as a finished garment? I have one that is in the doghouse currently that I swear will have been about a cardigan and a half’s knitting!

  6. This is the first time I’ve taken a good look at that pattern and, man, it’s amazing. Can’t wait to see your FO!

  7. wow – this is so beautiful, can’t wait to see it finished! Bet you can’t, either. :-)

  8. Pingback: Piece by piece | The Thai POV

  9. Just want to letou know, I nominated you fro a lovely blogger award –

    http://whatimuptotoday.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/1994/

  10. I AM AT THE EDGE OF MY CARDIGAN SEAT HERE.
    Please talk about the yarn selection and how you like it – I have never squeezed a knitpicks yarn what is it like please visit me and wear the sweater I will make you so many cocktails.

  11. Ohhhhhh, I so understand. You are stubborn beyond mention and I believe you will especially love wearing this since you put Soooooo much love and work into it. I think it is gorgeous and I hope you enjoy it. I have ripped many sweaters many times until I could live with it. THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR TRIALS and TRIBULATIONS.

  12. Jane Smith

    Would you be kind enough to tell us what sort of buttonhole you do?

    I have spent the past week trying out various options, to no avail.

    Thank you!

    Jane Smith (Pretoria, South Africa)

  13. The colour and pattern are gorgeous. Well done!

  14. Nice to see how you do the blocking, with the foam padding. I still use an old teacloth or whatever I have lying around … This however seems a lot better! Now I know what to look for.

    The colors look great by the way!

  15. duni

    ack- thank you for this. i have been knitting a short sleeved fall-inspired sweater for like 3 years (off and on, of course) and each time i finish something it seems like there’s an issue (totally me and not the pattern). i was determined to finish it this year, but the thought of ripping the shoulders on front and back is just demoralizing. thanks to you i feel a bit better about it and will pick it back up again.

  16. Good for you for sticking with it! I’m sure it will look terrific when it’s done :)

  17. Rhianwen

    I have never left a reply to a blog post before, but I kinda wanted to say this to you:

    Thank you!

    I recently discovered your blog, and it has been really genuinely enjoyable trawling through the archives and reading about your knitting. You are always cheerful, and positive about it all, and I find it inspiring (I am very sure that you haven’t felt full of cheer and positive energy for the entire time you have been writing the blog, but it doesn’t show). I have been ‘seriously’ knitting for about 4 years now, and beginning to dip my toe into designing my own things, and it has been so good to read what you have done and the progress you have made with it all.

    But anyway, this is not a suck-up, this is just a thank you for, well, writing your blog for the internet to see!

  18. Susan713

    Oh Glenna, you made me laugh! The yardage of dumb-ass mistakes I’ve corrected could cover a small village in knitwear. I think it’s why I’m such a good knitter.
    Looking forward to seeing the FO!

  19. Do you know how comforting it is to read/know that pros like yourself make the kinds of knitting mistakes that everyone else does? Makes us feel like we’re not a bunch of hacks after all.

    Can’t wait to see a modeled shot of this one! That is such a fantastic color for a thick, warm, cable-y sweater!

  20. The suspense is killing me! I check ravelry almost every day to see if you’ve finished and posted photos. I can’t wait to see it…

  21. Q – Cannot wait to see the finish garment. What a beautiful color!