But it’s really not all about the yarn, I swear

As Stephanie so nicely put it, the best part of Rhinbeck is being around friends and a lot of other people who don’t think knitting is silly. It’s a really great thing to be amongst your people like that, and know that if you stop someone dead in their tracks to ask them what a) they are knitting b) they are wearing c) they are going to knit with that yarn they are holding d) colour they are going to buy because that blue yarn they are holding looks way better than the blue one they put down, it’s all fine. People usually get it, in a way that you can’t usually count on when you’re mingling with the non-knitter people in everyday life.

Rhinebeck-PurchasesSTR

And really, if you’re going to travel all that way and spend all that time on a weekend trip, only to buy yarn and then bring it home again and skip over all the other parts of getting to hang out with nice people and drink wine in the evening (and maybe eat lots of cheese plate dinners, not that I would know anything about that), then you’re definitely missing the whole picture.

Having said that, though, uh. I bought some yarn. I mean, let’s not pretend it isn’t partly about the yarn, right?

I am proving to be quite a creature of habit with my Rhinebeck purchases – I bought from the same 3 vendors as I did last year, and I looked a ton of other great stuff that I am reminding myself to save up some cash for next year. I suppose when confronted with such a huge amount of selection, it’s easy to retreat to familiar ground. Well, not retreat, perhaps – embrace.

I snagged a couple of skeins of Socks That Rock Mediumweight (above) from The Fold, in Grawk and another colour whose name I forget at the moment. I always include a couple new pairs of ribbed socks in my knitting rotation during the year, and STR Mediumweight just goes by so nice and quickly. I also hemmed and hawed over a sizeable Green Mountain Spinnery purchase, but felt pretty good bringing this pile of DK-weight wool/alpaca blend in a nice deep red. I don’t know what this will be yet (I don’t usually, to be honest), but it’s nice to look at while I figure it out.

Rhinebeck-PurchasesGMS

I also stood in a Very Long Line to grab an armload of Miss Babs Yowza Whatta Skein. It’s a nice superwash wool in worsted weight and lovely colours, and I had started out with only one sweaters worth and then upped that as the time in line started to grow. It wasn’t the worst line ever, because so many people walk by you while you’re in it that you eventually start to see familiar faces to say hi to, but a person still wants to make it worth the investment. So here are 2 sweaters worth, in Beachglass and Talking in My Sleep. mmmm, fun yarn times ahead.

Rhinebeck-PurchasesMissBabs

And that’s the yarn-ish wrap-up! Believe me I have more knitting plans for the coming fall and winter than I know what to do with (Shorter: All The Sweater Knitting Fantasies), but I’ll manage somehow, I know I will.

Happy knitting this weekend!

*

 

*

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “But it’s really not all about the yarn, I swear

  1. How do you know how much to buy? What is a “safe” amount for a regular size ladies sweater, for example? And is that how much you purchase for your stash? I buy a skein or two here and there and have ended up with sort of a useless stash because I don’t buy enough to make anything – because I don’t know how much it takes to make anything (can you tell I’m a beginner?) …except they are so pretty, it isn’t useless just to look at them, lol!

  2. Judy

    Your first paragraph is spot-on! How I wish to have been there, but that four letter thing called “work” got in the way. Next year!

  3. I almost mugged a woman for the scarf she was wearing!! Apparently I wasn’t the only one – she was taking names for after she wrote up the pattern (it was her own design and it was beautiful)

  4. LizFM

    Nita, What I did was to look on Ravelry for patterns I liked, or even just “basic” patterns for different styles, and come up with an average of how much yardage a ‘basic’ raglan/set-in-sleeve sweater (in each yarn weight – sock/DK/worsted) would take in my size, err on the side of caution and generosity, and then look up a variety of other projects I liked, like shawls, socks, etc, and their yardages (in my size) and keep a list in my phone.

    You will make adjustments as you learn. For instance, I learned that, rather than make triangle shawls “bigger triangles” (it’s my upper arms that get cold and so I need a shawl that will cover that far, and simply increasing the size of the whole triangle takes far too much knitting to make it big enough in that area), it works better for me to get what I want by increasing them by 50-100% (making 1 1/2 or ‘double’ triangles). So I now know I need to increase the yardage by 50-100%.

    It’s a constant process of refining your plans and knowledge about yardage for yourself, but you can learn a lot by spending hours on Ravelry and doing a bunch of research early on.

    I just wish I was like Glenna and could get a sweater out of 6 skeins of yarn!! LOL

  5. I’m not usually super into grey, but the Miss Babs is just luminous! Your Rhinebeck haul is much larger than mine :P

  6. Oh my goodness, I have got to go to Rhinebeck next year. I would have tried to get my hubby to go with me this year, but it was a day to visit my daughter in Conn.

  7. Pat

    So Trisha what was the name of the scarf?

  8. I’ve seen that GMS wool/alpaca yarn (it’s available in an LYS here) and I’ve had to physically stop myself from buying some. Lovely! I can’t wait to see what you make with it.

  9. I stayed off social media that weekend because I couldn’t go and all the pics made me sad!

  10. I think I just about bought out the Green Mountain Spinnery booth (and I managed to find Ysolda there and got her to sign her new Rinebeck book!) Also, bought a sweater’s worth from Bartlettyarns of Maine. I used to use the latter back in the days when we lived in the U.S., but haven’t knitted with it in over a decade. Did you know that it was one of EZ;s favourite wools?

  11. Lynne Phelps

    Nita,
    Nita, you can buy a laminated brochure that is a companion to A Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns. It has basic garments: pullover, cardigan, vest, hat, gloves, etc. each has a table with sizes from child through adult on one axis and gauge on the other. So you can look up a 42 inch pullover (or whatever size you need) at 4.5 stitches to the inch (recommended gauge listed on yarn label) and it will give you yardage required.

    I think it is called A Knitter’s Handy Guide to Yarn Requirements. It is the best 5 or 6 bucks I ever spent. I keep it in my regular purse, not my knitting bag, since you never know when you might need to buy yarn!