Daily Archives: October 29, 2013

A Yarn Giveaway

About a week ago, our autumn took a sharp turn at the traffic lights from Gentle Late Summer Breeze to Holy Crap Where Is My Winter Coat. And although I’ve been really looking forward to the arrival of Sweater Season, I forgot that that also tends to coincide with Hat, Mitt, Cowl, and Scarf Season, and promptly went digging around for all of those things I put away many months ago.

This is good timing, since a little while ago the fine folks over at Mountain Colors yarns sent me a couple of skeins of their new Bozeman yarn, which is a thick-and-thin bulky yarn that is pretty well perfect for quick warm accessories, or even a big huge blanket if you were of a mind to dive in to such a project.

Sept22-Bozeman1

It’s 100% wool, thick-and-thin, in all of the beautiful Mountain Colors colours, and quick enough to knit that it really is quite embarrassing that I haven’t knitted more on this yet. I must have, uh, been finishing up a couple of Rhinebeck sweaters or something, heh. Because there’s some nice variation in colour and texture already, I decided to keep things super simple and just do a long garter stitch ‘scarf’ over about 25 sts, that I’ll then sew up the ends on and make into a big warm cowl once I’ve got it as long as it wants to be.

BozemanScarf

Luckily for you folks, they sent me a 2nd skein to give away to a knitter – and that knitter could be you!

To enter to win, just leave a comment on this post between now and Thursday noon (EST), telling me what your favourite fall knitting project is right now. Thursday afternoon I’ll pick a winner and make sure the skein of yarn comes your way.

Good luck, and happy knitting this evening!

*

*

283 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized