Rather loose relationship with time

I think one of the oddest things about knitting world has got to be the strange way we experience it as a form of time. Like, “Oh sure I can get that sweater done in two weeks to wear for my birthday party.” Or “Christmas Day is technically only 6 hours away, that’s lots of time to finish this pair of gloves I’ve hardly started. No worries.” Or the fact that sitting on a train for an hour a day each way on my commute isn’t as big a deal because it’s knitting time, as opposed to just “geez why am I not home already I am so tired” kind of time.

Sept8-MuchaCardigan1b

When you add knitting design in there it gets even more bizarre. Sometimes I work on something for self-publication and can have something turned around in exactly whatever amount of time I feel like it, and then if I’m working on something for another publication I could be rushing to get it done in less than a month. The next part is that sometimes, depending on the publication, this could bear no clear relationship whatsoever to when the final pattern sees the light of day. As a designer you roll with it, though, because otherwise we’d just never get anything done.

Anyway, this is all a long way of saying that a sweater I actually knitted 2 years ago was formally published 2 months ago, and finally my brain has sorted itself out long enough to tell you about it. (And get some photos. I can’t bear myself to announce anything knitted without getting photos of it).

Mucha1

A couple of years ago my friend Tanis asked me if I would contribute a sweater to her book Knitting Architecture, and it was so delightful a concept that I couldn’t possibly turn that down. It’s a book of women’s sweater and accessory patterns all based on key examples of architectural & design style. Mine was ‘art nouveau’, and the result was this cardigan, named for Alphonse Mucha, a famous artist and all around art nouveau dude.

Mucha4

It’s a modified-drop-shoulder, kimono-style cardigan meant to be quite loose, drapey, and comfortable, and uses a combination of dynamic cables and textural stitches to evoke the same kind of organic lines that art nouveau was famous for. My original sample was a bit smaller than what I would normally wear for myself, and since my ‘auntie’ Patricia not only is the right size for it but also is a lover of all things art nouveau and deco, I knew the sweater definitely had to go to live with her. After I got it back this fall I went over to her place to grab a few photographs of her in it and the handoff was made.

Mucha3

The cardigan is knitted in 4 pieces from the bottom up, and then seamed. It’s in worsted weight using Berroco Ultra Alpaca, one of my favourite yarns and a lovely blend of wool and alpaca. Perfect choice for this kind of project. It was a delightful book to be a part of and a great collection of designs to boot. And I’m glad to finally share it with you!

Happy knitting this weekend!

*

*

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Rather loose relationship with time

  1. That sweater looks so great on your aunt!

  2. Claudia

    I have this book! There are some lovely designs in it–congratulations.

  3. Congratulations! Lucky Aunt!

  4. Oh, that looks like such a comfy sweater? Just the thing for curling up on the sofa and reading a good book.

  5. Wow, very pretty sweater!

  6. wibbly wobbly timey wimey!

  7. Oh I so agree with your concept of knitting time. I think it relates to all crafts really. I found myself still binding a quilt for a wedding earlier this year, 15 minutes before we had to leave for the reception!

  8. Knitty time is elastic!

  9. jeanne

    That cardigan was my favorite of all the patterns in Knitting Architecture. It’s #1 on my next-to-be-knitted list – thank you!

  10. I have an hour commute to and from work every day and love it for knitting time. The roads are not the best here in Sri Lanka and takes a long time to get anywhere outside Colombo. I love a long road trip for a good knitting session, the longest being 11 hours to get to the other side of the country, which considering is about the size of Ireland was particularly excessive!

  11. I love that color, and I really like the detail of the vertical ribbing along the fronts. Very nice!

  12. Lovely pattern, and beautiful finished sweater. I know what you mean about time. I see plane trips or communting time as a gift to be knitted (or sometimes read) away, and never as a pain.

  13. Very stylish! Autumn is the perfect time for drapey things as you say. I’ve always wanted to have a shawl . . . and I think maybe I should knit one. You know, like a blanket with a hole in the center for your neck. It would be great! Do you know how to do that?