Daily Archives: December 22, 2013

It’s beginning to look a lot like something

December has been rolling along with its own momentum, and knitting continues in the background as I count down the days until I get to have a nice bit of holiday time. One more work day and then I’ll be looking for as much time as I can get to sit and knit, indulge in food and drink, and catch up on a bit of sleep. This year i didn’t even try to schedule myself any gift knitting, since I knew I wouldn’t be able to fit it in, but I’ve got projects I’d like to start fresh for myself over the holidays and that means finishing one or two others as well. I have an extremely ambitious “holiday knitting plans” list, and if it’s fantasyland I don’t even care.

Dec22-Corks

I’ve been perpetually a day or two behind on my little self-made advent calendar, but also reminding myself not to care too deeply about that. I must say though that it’s nice to see the cards line up all together as a reminder of festivity and effort. And speaking of things adding up, I finally remember today about my little corks collection (free pattern here – from an extremely inventive knitter that is not me), and pulled out some corks to add a few more to it for this year. I’ve got some nice worsted and DK remnants of yarn from the last year and a half or so that are nice to remember past projects with as well, so it’s a nice little treat. And they’re SO CUTE I can hardly stand it.

Dec22-AdventCards1

Dec22-AdventCards2

We got hit yesterday and overnight with a freezing rain ice storm and power has been off and then on again, so I’m going to spend the rest of my pre-holiday weekend curled up with my knitting and keeping an eye on the nearest flashlight and candles in case of need. At least knitting is an activity that doesn’t require electricity!

Are you a gift knitter this year? If so, I wish you speed and resilience and hope you get everything done when it needs to be.

Here’s looking ahead to a week of festivity! Hope it’s a good one for all of you.

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized