It’s beginning to look a lot like something

December has been rolling along with its own momentum, and knitting continues in the background as I count down the days until I get to have a nice bit of holiday time. One more work day and then I’ll be looking for as much time as I can get to sit and knit, indulge in food and drink, and catch up on a bit of sleep. This year i didn’t even try to schedule myself any gift knitting, since I knew I wouldn’t be able to fit it in, but I’ve got projects I’d like to start fresh for myself over the holidays and that means finishing one or two others as well. I have an extremely ambitious “holiday knitting plans” list, and if it’s fantasyland I don’t even care.

Dec22-Corks

I’ve been perpetually a day or two behind on my little self-made advent calendar, but also reminding myself not to care too deeply about that. I must say though that it’s nice to see the cards line up all together as a reminder of festivity and effort. And speaking of things adding up, I finally remember today about my little corks collection (free pattern here – from an extremely inventive knitter that is not me), and pulled out some corks to add a few more to it for this year. I’ve got some nice worsted and DK remnants of yarn from the last year and a half or so that are nice to remember past projects with as well, so it’s a nice little treat. And they’re SO CUTE I can hardly stand it.

Dec22-AdventCards1

Dec22-AdventCards2

We got hit yesterday and overnight with a freezing rain ice storm and power has been off and then on again, so I’m going to spend the rest of my pre-holiday weekend curled up with my knitting and keeping an eye on the nearest flashlight and candles in case of need. At least knitting is an activity that doesn’t require electricity!

Are you a gift knitter this year? If so, I wish you speed and resilience and hope you get everything done when it needs to be.

Here’s looking ahead to a week of festivity! Hope it’s a good one for all of you.

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like something

  1. A wonderful way to spend the holidays, curled up with knitting :-)

  2. I’m a completely last minute gift knitter this year.
    I managed to knit a cable hat and scarf yesterday, thanks to super bulky yarn!!! Now I’m off to knit a few more gifts on one of my knitting machines, they’re great for procrastinators like me! ;-)
    Happy Holidays!!!

  3. Oh how I wish I was spending Christmas in a cold climate. Here in Brisbane, Australia it’ll be a relatively hot Christmas Day but that won’t stop me from knitting. I generally knit every day of the year!

  4. Merry Christmas to you too… We’re a little south of the freezing rain today but still rainy and dreary-a perfect day to finish up Christmas presents. Every time I finish one-I add another to my list. I’ve just added wine corks to my list :-) I too am looking forward to knitting for myself again soon. Happy Holidays.

  5. No gift knitting here. I’m happy to get any time to knit (or sleep) at all with a toddler and a baby on my hands. Committing to something that needs to be finished at a certain time would just add a level of stress I can very much do without, thank you very much. Actually, while I do knit gifts, I never do them for Christmas or birthdays or stuff like that. I prefer to do things to my own schedule!

    I love that cork pattern, thank you so much for sharing that one!

  6. Alison

    Merry Christmas from the beautiful Suffolk countryside in England, where I have escaped today from London and will be hibernating until the 28th (when I will depart for the wilder north of Cumbria). I have three rounds on DPNs (only my second time!) to go.

  7. Have a great holiday season

  8. Amber

    My gift knitting actually got done, thanks to a sprained ankle. Nothing like a sprain to force you to spend some quality time on the couch!

  9. Maureen

    I usually don’t pressure myself with gift knitting, but I did this year and I vow…never again! My husband will receive a large crew neck sweater from me on Christmas morning…1 back, 1 front, 1 sleeve, and two skeins of unused yarn! We live on the southern coast of Rhode Island (New England) and it’s 62 degrees today, but hopefully we’re be getting “normal” temps in the 30′s on Christmas Day!
    Merry Christmas, Glenna! I would love to sit and knit some Korknisse tonight…what great fun! My break is over…back to miles of stockinette (what was I thinking???!!!).

  10. I did graduation gifts for my two sisters, who graduated last week. Now that those are done, I am also looking forward to some *me* knitting!

  11. I’ve been making a bunch of pressies for friends and family and to my surprise, I’ve just finished the last one in time! Actually that little bunch includes three of those super cute cork elves for one of my friends. :) Here in Finland we get our presents on Christmas Eve so it’s one day less time to finish everything – but I’ve been knitting like a maniac, on bus, at school, even at a little Christmas party with my friends… And now that I’ve got some spare time, I’m going to do some more knitting.

    Have a merry Christmas and enjoy the holiday time! :)

  12. I hope that your holiday knitting time is all that you hope for. I’m looking forward to a break from work too. It will be nice to enjoy some leisure, even if it’s only for a couple days. I really love the cork ornaments. I think those are darling, and they would be a nice way to dress up my packages next year… Oh, no… let’s get through one before we start planning for the next. :-D

  13. Cheryl

    I actually had a knitting plan this year. I finished 2 men’s sweaters and 2 pair of mens socks and 1 pair of fair isle finger less mitts. But then again, I started in October :-) . Merry Christmas!

  14. hawknitr13

    I’ve been doing some ‘charity’ hat knitting for our local shelter… i hope they got delivered before this minus degree temp arrived!! staying in by the fire, java near, hubby & puppy(3yo) watching Bowl games while i knit!! Couldn’t be more content!! Merry Christmas!!

  15. Roseanne Sabol

    No gift knitting for me either. Work has taken a lot of energy! So nice to have time with family and friends around the holidays, though. I hope your holiday leisure is all you need it to be.
    BTW…did you make those Christmas card hooks? Love them. May try something like that myself.

  16. Your Korknisse are so sweet! I’m so glad you are safe and warm after the ice storm. It is for times like these that wool collecting is necessary!

  17. Funny, I was just knitting Korknisse again yesterday, too. Mine came out bigger this time (same yarn, same needles) so I make chunky Korknisse with sparkling wine corks! Blot post…tomorrow. I need a picture.

  18. pam

    Thanks for the little pattern… Super cute maybe gifts for next year. Ornaments , they would be cute as ornaments.

  19. suburbancorrespondent

    Oh, how I wish we would get knitting-enabling winter storms around here!

  20. CJ

    Just found your wonderful blog when I found your article about pilling, which was incredibly useful. I’ll be following along now. The little cork people are adorable.