Daily Archives: January 27, 2014

Deep into it

I’ve had a couple of design projects on the go for the last few months. They are sweater projects each involving 2 samples for one design, so it’s taking me a bit longer than normal, and I like them both and can’t wait until they’re done for the world to consume, but combine project fatigue with January deep freeze and my brain is starting to long for a new project. Anything would do, really. Like, maybe a pair of mitts and a hat, just to take the edge off?

DSC_6585

So really I have no rational explanation for the fact that I knew all of this about myself and still cast on for a new sweater project over the Christmas holidays – and not just a quick hit, either, but an all-over cabled sweater. I don’t know, man, it seemed like a normal decision at the time. I mean seriously, anybody looking for reason and logic should take notice of knitting and then just keep on walking. I shouldn’t really be craving another large sweater project but as it turns out I’m still liking going back to this in turn, turning out a few cabled rounds of it every so often. I think it helps that it’s worsted-weight wool, which at this time of year feels pretty comfortable just to hold on the needles.

DSC_6584

Even though I’m no stranger to cabled projects, I don’t usually do all-over cabled sweaters and so this is a nice variation on cabled technique which is also refreshing. Variation in how a technique gets used still lets every different project stand out a bit.

Also, I don’t know about you, but any knitting time these days is still a good time – we’re still not out of the super chill zone here and watching the snow blow around from my office window just makes me cast longing glances at the knitting waiting for me in my handbag. This is the knitter’s season for sure.

I hope you’ve got some fun projects waiting for you at home, and a warm beverage or three to go with it!

*

Pattern: Joist Pullover, from Twist Collective by Andrea Rangel
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers, in Liberty Heather
Project bag from Three Bags Full.

*

*

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized