Deep into it

I’ve had a couple of design projects on the go for the last few months. They are sweater projects each involving 2 samples for one design, so it’s taking me a bit longer than normal, and I like them both and can’t wait until they’re done for the world to consume, but combine project fatigue with January deep freeze and my brain is starting to long for a new project. Anything would do, really. Like, maybe a pair of mitts and a hat, just to take the edge off?

DSC_6585

So really I have no rational explanation for the fact that I knew all of this about myself and still cast on for a new sweater project over the Christmas holidays – and not just a quick hit, either, but an all-over cabled sweater. I don’t know, man, it seemed like a normal decision at the time. I mean seriously, anybody looking for reason and logic should take notice of knitting and then just keep on walking. I shouldn’t really be craving another large sweater project but as it turns out I’m still liking going back to this in turn, turning out a few cabled rounds of it every so often. I think it helps that it’s worsted-weight wool, which at this time of year feels pretty comfortable just to hold on the needles.

DSC_6584

Even though I’m no stranger to cabled projects, I don’t usually do all-over cabled sweaters and so this is a nice variation on cabled technique which is also refreshing. Variation in how a technique gets used still lets every different project stand out a bit.

Also, I don’t know about you, but any knitting time these days is still a good time – we’re still not out of the super chill zone here and watching the snow blow around from my office window just makes me cast longing glances at the knitting waiting for me in my handbag. This is the knitter’s season for sure.

I hope you’ve got some fun projects waiting for you at home, and a warm beverage or three to go with it!

*

Pattern: Joist Pullover, from Twist Collective by Andrea Rangel
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers, in Liberty Heather
Project bag from Three Bags Full.

*

*

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Deep into it

  1. Those cables are DELICIOUS! Sometimes you just have to break all of the rules and cast on something else. I’ve been there many many times!

  2. Oh, loving the cable pattern…gorgeous! I, too, have been there many times.

    Sheila

    http://sheilazachariae.blogspot.com/2014/01/diy-shawl-pin-with-buttons.html

  3. I hear you. I couldn’t decided between two sweaters and chose a totally different one in the end ha! So I hear you. This deep freeze is at least good for knitting indoors. Too bad the kids don’t think so ;)

  4. I’m a brand new knitter so those cables are a bit scary looking :) but oh my gosh, does that sweater look amazing. I’m glad to hear that even experienced knitter get bored with projects sometimes.

  5. That sweater is knitting up amazingly! The cable design is something I haven’t seen before, and now I need to add it to my favourites :). I find the cold weather outside makes me want to cast on all the projects. If only there were little elves who could help finish things along whenever you put down the knitting :D.

  6. CJ

    The texture of those cables is beautiful. And sometimes you just have to go with your cravings and not think about what is sensible. Indulge yourself! It must be lovely being inside when the weather is so cold and wintry.

  7. caityrosey

    My mom was knitting test swatches of that pattern over the Xmas holidays. Sure is striking.

  8. Wow! Gorgeous cables!

  9. Even though my focus is bag making, I totally understand this syndrome. Your cabled sweater is gorgeous!

  10. hawknitr13

    Love the cables!

  11. Penny

    “I hope you’ve got some fun projects waiting for you at home”
    Oh I do. I am knitting your Northside Pullover. It is my first experience with cables and I am having so much fun. Love the pattern and the experience.

  12. Lovely! I’m not normally an all-over cable knitter. I need more instant gratification than that would allow :)

  13. I bet you are a “sweater knitter,” which I think I am. I always find the most comfort in knitting a sweater even if I know it will take me awhile to finish it. I like the longer rows (not rounds as much since I find that I like working in pieces the best) and in winter, the weight of the knitted fabric in my lap. I still love accessories and knitting in the round, but my go-to projects when I really want to relax are always sweaters knitted in pieces and usually something with cables.

    Your sweater looks awesome! Have fun with it.

  14. ohhh, I like that sweater! I too, am working on an all over cable sweater, in bulky yarn. It doesn’t get worked on every day, but it definitely does feel good to do in this crazy weather. Then I have a smaller project always on the needles for when I need to see progress. :-)

  15. Wow, your cables are beautiful. xoxo

  16. I agree, I can’t resist a cable pattern myself, and your sweater looks beautiful so far!
    Hot Toddy is my current knitting beverage of choice. :)

  17. Den

    All I can say is wow! It’s going to be gorgeous.

  18. Sara

    I recognise project fatigue. Desperate to finish my jumper but still contemplating casting on socks and a scarf

  19. Beautiful cable pattern – cabling is my current knitting obsession although I’ve yet to try it on a sweater

  20. Just found your blog recently and I’m enjoying it! I can totally relate to the idea of starting a new project when you really shouldn’t because of everything else you have on the needles. But it just can’t be helped. It’s what knitters do.

  21. Such yummy cables!!

  22. What a beautiful project. The color is just luscious too. I don’t really like knitting cables, but this makes me tempted to add it to my ‘some day’ project list.

  23. thebraininjane

    Good Lord you cable like a champ! Gorgeous! I’m gearing up to start my first garment (I don’t count the one little baby jacket I made) and I’m feeling nervous. I’ve got this beautiful Irish yarn and I’m anxious I’ll mess everything up. Here’s the pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/alpengluhen. Wish me luck!

  24. I’ll be looking forward to how this looks when it’s finished. Will be putting in my favourites on Ravelry!