Winter logic

It’s that time of year around these parts when it seems like winter is actually going to be here forever. You do sometimes have moments of thinking, “hey, maybe tomorrow I can leave the house wearing regular shoes instead of the same salt-stained winter boots I’ve had on since late November.” And then you look at the weather report and it becomes clear to you that no, actually, that brief “warm spell” around freezing last week was just a momentary glitch, a seventh-inning stretch before settling in to make the game last as long as possible. This is about 99.9% of the reason why when summer arrives, we can’t quite fully grasp it and so we can’t stop talking about how hot it is, because surely cold is the only option.

DSC_6604

The odd thing knitting-wise is that I’ve realized that what I’m actually knitting on right now (wool sweaters), and the projects I’m thinking about casting on for (hint: more wool sweaters), are things that I mostly want to be wearing already. As though knitting them is almost the same thing as already wearing them. I don’t know, man, at this point in winter I think logic abandons all hope and we all go slightly feral, clutching the nearest yarn that looks good. This Saturday I’ll be up in Peterborough at Needles in the Hay to teach some classes, and I’m pretty sure some new yarn is going to come home with me! Something new and fun. Probably also wooly.

DSC_6606

One of the wooly things I imagine myself already wearing instead of just knitting is my Joist pullover in progress – not least because it’s going to be a super warm cabley sweater, but also because while it IS a lovely neutral shade of purple-grey, I think my brain needs to look at some yarn in a different colour during March. I foresee some leafy-green or bright red knitting projects in my future! Or at the very least, some stash diving to put some nice new piles of yarn on deck.

Winter, am I right? Thank goodness there’s knitting to be done.

Stay warm and cozy out there!

*

Pattern: Joist Pullover, from Twist Collective by Andrea Rangel
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers, in Liberty Heather
Project bag from Three Bags Full.

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Winter logic

  1. I am feeling the exact same way! I’ve bought yarn for two separate sweaters, because all I want to do is knit big, warm things. We’ll be delightfully warm next winter, though!

  2. I love the interwoven cables!! A thick, woolly sweater like this would certainly not go amiss in Boston right now :P Maybe I should start knitting one..

  3. You know the Yarn Harlot’s/Denny’s rule for knitting in winter – color!

  4. Caitlyn M.

    I have the fingering weight mock cable cardigan “Alecia Beth” on the needles right now. At first I was worried that I wouldn’t finish in time to wear it, but who am I kidding? The cold weather isn’t going anywhere any time soon, and since I catch a chill easily in an over-air-conditioned room, I’ll get plenty of use out of it in other seasons. But I still want it done yesterday, because, y’know, I’m cold right now! Luckily I have plenty of tea and chocolate to see me through.

  5. Oh, you nailed the weather on the head exactly! I just want to wear my regular shoes! And a dress! As to knitting, i have some lovely spring green and cream variegated sock yarn and am going to cast on to make a cowl. I’ve never made one yet, so it is time. Soon as I find a nice lacy or maybe a cable pattern for circular needles. Don’t know why I’m having trouble finding one. Probably because I have such a spring fever case of monkey mind I can’t stay on the hunt long enough to focus on it! Got any pattern recommendations? Have a lovely Wednesday! I’m off to a quilt guild meeting.

  6. I’m wearing regular shoes right now! With wool socks and toe warmers, it’s true, but still my stinky, salty boots are getting today off. I too feel as if I live in the perpetual home of Winter.

  7. Today, I flipped the forecast the bird and wore ‘normal’ shoes! It’s still only 5 degrees F, but we haven’t had snow in almost a week! So, I took advantage of the opportunity (we’re due for snow again on Friday).

    I’ve almost completely switched gears. I’m knitting things with light weight brightly colored yarns, and hoping that I will be able to wear them by the time I finish!

  8. The cutest coat and fun boots can only take you so long through the long winter! Adore your knitting.
    Best,
    Sheila
    http://sheilazachariae.blogspot.com/2014/02/bonfire-wedding-blanket.html

  9. I live just outside Toronto and it sure has been cold. I’ve finished knitting 2 wool sweaters since Christmas and they make me smile each time I wear them! Each new wooly sweater I cast on I wonder if I’ll actually wear it this year or if I’m stockpiling for next winter.

  10. That sweater looks like it’s going to be awesome! Hang in there :)

  11. lol I laughed hard, because I had two separate conversations this week. #1 my sister in law “I just wish I could go outside without wearing long johns.” #2 my coworker not ten minutes ago “I miss running outside. It’s almost March, will it never warm up?!” but the finishing blow is my fashion this winter. Same every day.
    Tights. hand knit socks. waterproof moccasin type shoes (yes, salt stained). warm skirt. Turtleneck. then, it varies. regular work day? Hand knit wool sweater. Something special like a meeting? hand knit shawl.
    winter parka.
    handmade double stranded bulky yarn hat
    hand knit scarf
    warm gloves.

    Freaking ridiculous. I start to match the socks to the outfit so I can be fashionable. Really????
    And knitting? More socks. finished one bulky cabled sweater (LOVE yours, by the way, it *might* be in my queue any moment.) am working on a bulky vest. Can’t stop! Want next winter’s wardrobe to be more varied. :-)
    I look at the spring yarns and sweaters and think “well, that could work in a heavier yarn with longer sleeves in a darker color.”

    This has to just stop. NOW.

  12. What am I knitting now? Lacy socks in a bright yellow and green yarn from Blue Moon called “Hope Springs Eternal”. Kind of says it all, doesn’t it?

  13. Linda

    I think you’re the cable queen, Glenna! Our 70-degree CA weather has changed to 3 days of rain and wind ahead – yay!! I want to dive into those lovely wool cables of yours! I’m finishing a wool/bamboo scarf on my needles and can wear that since it won’t take long to finish. You’re right, I think we all do go slightly feral and grab whatever feels good in response to the weather. But I want something to wear for Spring/Summer – so I need to focus, focus on what I’ll next put on the needles!

  14. I hear you about winter. I read somewhere recently that Cleveland, OH, where I am from is one of the top five worst cities in winter. We have been wearing yucky, old salt-stained boots every day for months. Like you, my knitting is the only thing keeping me sane through all of this. Not a day goes by when I don’t wonder how non-knitters/crocheters are coping with this winter without the feel of wool in their hands daily. I, too, am working on a heavy, warm grey sweater (for my hubby), but I have had to take breaks from it regularly to work on something more colorful. That is why a Granny Stripes afghan in all different jewel tones and a Fair Isle Ivy League Vest have been the projects I pick up when I need a bit of color in my life. :) None of these projects are likely to be ready to be worn (or used in the case of the afghan) until next winter, though.

    Your sweater is amazing!

  15. I also think you’re the cable queen. It’s really so beautiful

  16. Claudia

    You are so right! I want to set the boots and snow mocs aside and I can’t…there is too much snow and ice! Not long ago I washed all my hand knit socks and arranged them all in a lovely basket. This winter I am wearing nothing but hand knit socks…and every scarf I ever made. I’m getting tired of my hand knit sweater inventory and have cast on a cable cardigan. Not sure if it will be done this winter…but who know?

  17. twistedsticks

    This winter is just never ending. Sub zero temps again all this week. I love making big wooly sweaters! Your cable work is so beautiful and I love that color.

  18. Oh man, last weekend’s glorious pretend-spring ruined me. I was so excited, and it’s turned out to be the cruelest tease ever. I spent all weekend outside and also went a little crazy with the seed buying for the garden. Then yesterday and today it snowed. Guh.

  19. FoFo

    I have actually resisted the temptation to knit wolly things and have started on a summer item. Or I should say picked up a winter item from the hibernation pile. Spring needs to hurry!

  20. That pattern looks absolutely great! I think I’ll have to add it to my list of things to make for the next winter, I don’t think I can justify any winter knitting anymore.