Home stretch of the season

This time, knitter friends, this week the weather reporters really are saying spring is just around the corner. Any day now, they say, we’re going to get those above-freezing temperatures for several days in a row, and then it’ll be a whole new world! (Most Canadians now hear that and think “HAH HAH, you can’t fool us, we watch Rick Mercer, see. Cloudy with a chance of making stuff up, that’s the REAL weather report,” and yet still we cling to hope).

Naturally, this is a perfect time of year to be on the home stretch of a yarn-eating all-over-cabled worsted weight pullover that will really only be most wearable in the coldest months of the year. Naturally.

March22-Joist1

Last weekend I spent some time with my Joist pullover, and got the sleeves and body all joined up to the yoke and started the decreases for armholes and shoulder decreases (it’s a seamless saddle shoulder style), and this was exciting for the first round or two before I realized that of course there are now approximately twelve billion stitches on the needles and maybe each round isn’t quite as fast as those sleeves you just finished before that. But still I cling to hope, because in knitter weather forecast terms, spring is around the corner and I’ll get there. A finished sweater is a finished sweater even if you don’t get to wear it right away, and anything I finish in the next few months will be waiting ready and patient once the next chilly season does arrive. (Oh just imagine, the very idea of there being warm months in between now and the next period of cold. Oh frabjous day!) Home stretch, home stretch.

March22-Joist2

Of course, change is also just as good as a rest, they say, so the other week I just decided to cast on a new project for the heck of it. I’d been eyeing Lempicka ever since it appeared in the fall at the Twist Collective fashion show at the Toronto Downtown Knit Collective, and pulled the nearest leafy green worsted weight yarn from my stash to work it up in. It’s not the sort of pattern you can give just a passing glance to, since it is both top-down and relies on some fairly complexly thought-out pictorial cables, but I am game for something new for my brain to work on, and I look forward to having it on the needles for the next little while.

March22-Lempicka

What knitting projects are occupying your thoughts these days? I hope they’re fun ones.
Happy Wednesday!

*


Pattern: Joist Pullover, from Twist Collective by Andrea Rangel
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers, in Liberty Heather

Pattern: Lempicka , from Twist Collective by Christa Giles
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca, pea soup mix


*

*

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Home stretch of the season

  1. Can’t wait to see each when their finished.

  2. Look at all those yummy cables!!

    We are supposed to get warmer weather here in Michigan later this week, too, and it would be so lovely if all the dirty snow would melt!

    My knitting thoughts are occupied by lots of projects right now, but I am trying to maintain monogamy right now, for the sake of a child I promised a sweater. I am thisclose to done with the body and then I’ll bang out the sleeves. Then I can let my mind move on to less wintry projects perhaps!

  3. twistedsticks

    That purple sweater is just gorgeous. How does it take you to finish a project like that? How many projects do you have going at one time?

  4. Ann

    wow, love the Lempicka – but it does look tricky. I love a challenge, but wow! By the way I love your blog!

  5. That is a beautiful sweater. Wow all of those cables must have taken years to do. I love it.

  6. Claudia

    So with you on the hopes of spring…or false hopes. Here in Iowa it’s sun, wind, snow, sun, snow, wind. But the wind is from the south! Lovely sweater!

  7. This is absolutely beautiful and mouth watering! I love it and it has inspired me to ask you a question……..I began knitting when I was a child and knitted so furiously for so many years (I even used to knit under the desk during classes!!!) that at a very young age I had to down tools because of such painful hands…..yes…..investigated and treated etc etc. I found the only way to avoid the pain was to avoid knitting. So sadly I gave it up. I have now decided to venture back in but am working on very small and or simple pieces that do not cause so much pain. I recently read an article about an ergonomic needle from Japan (circular bamboo which I use now anyway) that is designed for arthritics and others who experience pain on knitting. This has prompted me to ask you………do you have any tips? Have there been any technological advancements since I put my needles down several years ago??????? Just thought I’d ask. I would love to get back into serious knitting. Janr

  8. Even I, who likes winter, have had enough by now. I just started swatching with some pink yarn and the idea of a spring sweater. Bright! But also warm!

  9. Scottie

    They also promised us warm weather in MD but instead we got snow all day on yesterday and today breezy winds like Being on the Michigan lakes.
    Love reading your blog. I always end up choicing one of your suggestions for next in queue. BTW love your cable latest design. That in queue for my husband. From one crazy knitter to another.

  10. I am certainly not on pullovers. Have knitted 2 scarves and 1/2 teddy bear.
    Good call on the “cloudy with a chance of meatballs” joke. Ha. South Ontario is supposed to be one of the warmest places in Canada – THE warmest place, in fact – but we still have snow 3/4 through March. What does this say about the COLDER parts of Canada? Ha!
    What does “worsted” mean?

  11. knittedblissjc

    ooh, all that cable-y goodness! It;s going to be gorgeous on you.

  12. That Joist is stupid-gorgeous.

  13. Loved that RMR bit; so, so true! :-( Not sure if the nice weather we had a few days ago was spring/summer or not; yesterday and today it’s been snowing on and off, so maybe that was it . . . oh, well . . .

    I’ve been working on what I call my ‘barn cardi’ (to keep me from wanting every bit to be perfect); largest sweater I’ve ever worked on; reaches to my knees! I used Fair Isle traditional motifs on a hot pink background, knitting in the round with Norske steeks for the front and sleeve openings. Now I have to finish the sleeves, then knit the button and buttonhole bands. I’ve been dyeing scarves, though, so not much knitting has been done of late. I figure I’ll wear it next winter (assuming we aren’t into the beginning of that already). ~ Linne

  14. Wow…so many cables! I am simply hoping to get the crocheted edgings on a vest done!

  15. Pingback: Home stretch of the season | Knitting For Baby

  16. Gayle

    For Pillowparlance – my hands were really bothering me some time ago and I discovered Russian Knitting. The movements are from the wrist, moving the whole hand, not in the fingers and that avoids some pain. I haven’t pursued it because my hands got quite a bit better after a rest, but do check out Larissa Vilensky’s Book of Russian Knitting. I think there’s a group on Ravelry, too.

  17. That cable sweater is to die for!!! What deliciousness.

  18. here in Spain the weather is cold! I’m work in a sweater

  19. LOVE those sweaters. Though, I have to say, I hope it isn’t cold enough to wear them for many, many months.

  20. This cable sweater is coming along beautifully!!!

  21. Loving the Cable sweater. I am just not sure if I am ready for that kind of detail. It looks amazing

  22. Barb R.

    I actually thought about abandoning my needles for a….hook! Yes! I long to crochet a certain…well, vest I saw on Craftsy. I was swinging a crochet hook for many years before I returned to knitting and I do long to do a bit of lace with 80 crochet thread and a size 14 steel hook.
    Well…we will see.