Socks for springtime

So, it’s sock knitting season, am I right? It always does seem to hit me around this time of year, even before the warm weather starts to make tiny, smaller-lap-real-estate projects seem appealing. Partly because it’s nice to have less obtrusive projects to carry around but also I think coming to the end of a winter season draws the state of one’s sock drawer and all the wear and tear of the latest sock-wearing season into sharper relief.¬†Quick, knit a zillion more pairs before September comes around again. It’ll be like last winter¬†never happened.

Sock stash

Plus, sock yarn is just so darned cheerful and colourful.

STR ribbed socks

Since March I’ve been diligently keeping an active sock project in my handbag, to fit in a few rounds when there’s time. (Over the winter I’d been letting sweater sleeves take up that job). Helpfully, a couple of months ago when I was rifling around looking for empty project bags, I happened upon a small cache of unfinished sock projects – three, to be exact. All 3 only had part of the first sock knitted, needles still waiting. (So that’s where all my sets of 2.5mm double-pointed needles went.) I finished one of them, then cast on a new pair of Jaywalkers afterwards.

STR ribbed socks

When I finished those, before I immediately went to my sock yarn stash for a new pair, I decided to muster up some resilience and go back to one of the remaining unfinished pairs. Going back to resume unfinished projects is always a little harder, since they’re less new and exciting, but it’s also so worth it to make progress and get closer to freeing up a few more needles and project bags. Plus, it’s almost like having a project pre-started for you, when you’ve had time to forget that you were the one that started it in the first place.

Sock stash.

I’ve definitely got my eye on my sock yarn stash again, too. I’ve added to it over several years and I like the collection. I’d sure love to turn more of it into actual socks, though, so I’m going to ride the spring sock knitting momentum as long as I can.

Onwards – Sock knitting season ahoy!

*

Pattern: A Nice Ribbed Sock (by me)
Yarn: Socks That Rock lightweight from Blue Moon Fiber Arts, ‘Ms Larock’ colourway
Needles: 2.5mm double-pointed needles (plastic-coated metal, probably Unique brand from several years ago!).

*

 

 

*

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Socks for springtime

  1. I also agree that the wave of warmer weather calls for small lap projects :) Also love that you feel like your projects were pre-started! That’s a great perspective to take. I’m going to try that with some of my WIPs that haven’t seen the light of day in who knows how long. Looking forward to seeing more socks!!

  2. Joanne

    I see you use metal sock needles. What kind are they? I’ve been using bamboo, but some yarn I’m using right now for socks is sticking, so I want to try metal too.

  3. I’ve always got a sock on the needles with me in my van. Actually won’t come in the house til both socks are off the needles! Great on-the-go projects!
    Love your sock yarn stash! So pretty!

  4. Lovely sock yarn! Happy knitting! I haven’t tried to knit socks yet but it’s on my list!

  5. I have my first pair of Socks going and loving it.

  6. twistedsticks

    I have a pair started also that has been sitting for a couple months now. I knit two pair last winter and then lost momentum. I am working on an afghan right now and a crochet baby blanket so the poor sock has been sitting.

  7. love your sock yarn stash – and the socks you knit are pretty! I went through the winter with not enough socks, so I am loving the socks with Sarah KAl, it is making me stay focused on socks – I am on my twelfth pair since January. It is amazing to me, but at some point, I have to think about hats again, I am behind on those. :-)

  8. unnf, your sockyarn stash!
    I’ve definitely been bitten by the sock-bug too lately. It’s been a lot more cool than I’m used to here in England, but lap-projects are perfect to keep around–these projects practically grow all by themselves when you find the time to get a row in here and there!

  9. I am definitely feeling the sock knitting urge. I have two pairs on the needles that I just want to finish, and I think it’ll take at least one more pair before I’m ready to slow down and maybe knit something else too.

  10. I love socks!! Easy go to project when you don’t have much time. And the sock yarn!! Your stash is quite lovely!

  11. Genia Potter

    I just finished a pair of your Nice Ribbed Socks last night in a similar yarn – Dream in Color Everlasting “Twist and Dip”! I’m hoping for a bit more chilly weather here in Oregon so I can wear them before next autumn, though. Love that pattern!

  12. Pingback: Socks for springtime | Knitting For Baby

  13. Laura Sahlberg

    I too have just gotten the sock bug. After finishing a sweater and shawl I am sooo ready for a small project.

  14. Sarah Punderson

    This year I joined a group who will knit on socks everyday. For years I have been saying I wanted to get into knitting socks, this did it for me. The only problem is I have allowed myself to buy sock yarn. My stash has been growing a lot faster even though I am on my tenth pair. I am having fun though, and that’s what it is all about, right? I am amazed at how much sock knitting I can get done because they are so portable.

  15. Oh la’ i’m not the only one that has a sock yarn mountain in her closet :) socks that rock yarn is a lovely one! Can’t wait to see your socks finished :)

  16. 379christy

    I am almost done with a pi shawl — similar to the one you were working on when you last blogged. My thanks for your comments. I love Elizabeth Zimmerman now, too. BTW, you must learn to knit two socks at once. It really isn’t that much more to have on needles at once and you always have a pair when you are done.

  17. What fun! I love knitting socks but never have a chance to wear them in Phoenix :/

  18. I’m really good at starting socks and not finishing so on occasion I find a surprise WIP stuck away somewhere!!! And sock yarn is so versatile!! ;)

  19. I just recently picked up my sock knitting, too, after letting two sock projects languish untouched for months. Two pairs finished in May, and two more on the needles.

  20. Pingback: The system works | Knitting to Stay Sane

  21. Barb R.

    Better get those socks AND sweaters done NOW. it is going to be a cold winter again for 2014. No let up in the snow department either. I have one sweater down and 3 in the line up..all simple patterns for speed sake. I have one pair of socks on the way and other yarn put aside for more. I have one cap almost done and planning other head coverings for winter.
    Not going to be cold again this winter!!

    bjr
    in CT, USA

  22. I love seeing sock wips! All those needles working up pretty little socks! I will conquer a pair of socks one day!