Daily Archives: May 29, 2014

The latest

The latest pair of Jaywalker socks came off my needles a week or so ago, filling a bit of the ‘neutrals’ gap in my sock drawer. This is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in ‘mineshaft’, which I’ve had in my stash for several years now and am glad to have in sock form now. They’re going to be great to add to next season’s sock refreshments.

May Jaywalkers

This is actually a pattern I have knitted so many times that I’ve lost track of how many Jaywalkers I’ve knitted. It’s certainly more than a dozen, but beyond that I’m not sure. At first my goal (a few years ago) was to have a week’s worth of them in my sock drawer, but of course after a while there is a certain amount of attrition and pairs need replacing. I might even be on my ‘third week’ of Jaywalkers by now, which is sort of amazing yet unfathomable.

It is pretty comforting to be able to go back to the same sock patterns over and over again, but when I stop and think about it…nothing else in my wardrobe has had anything near this level of repetition. I’ve knitted a couple of my own sweater designs twice, as well as a couple of scarves, but socks really seem like one of the few items you can repeat as many times as you want without any real concern, am I wrong?

DSC_6621

I do like the repetition, anyway. Socks are one of those things you just need to be able to slip on and know how they’re going to feel on your feet, so I’m definitely in favour of sticking with a good pattern & yarn combo once you know you’ve found one you like.

What’s your favourite sock pattern & yarn combination? Have you got multiple pairs of the same sock in your dresser drawer at home? If so then I know I’m in good company. Happy knitting this fine Thursday!

*

Pattern: Jaywalkers (Ravelry link), pattern by Grumperina originally featured on Magknits, now free on Ravelry
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘mineshaft’

*

 

 

*

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized