The latest

The latest pair of Jaywalker socks came off my needles a week or so ago, filling a bit of the ‘neutrals’ gap in my sock drawer. This is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in ‘mineshaft’, which I’ve had in my stash for several years now and am glad to have in sock form now. They’re going to be great to add to next season’s sock refreshments.

May Jaywalkers

This is actually a pattern I have knitted so many times that I’ve lost track of how many Jaywalkers I’ve knitted. It’s certainly more than a dozen, but beyond that I’m not sure. At first my goal (a few years ago) was to have a week’s worth of them in my sock drawer, but of course after a while there is a certain amount of attrition and pairs need replacing. I might even be on my ‘third week’ of Jaywalkers by now, which is sort of amazing yet unfathomable.

It is pretty comforting to be able to go back to the same sock patterns over and over again, but when I stop and think about it…nothing else in my wardrobe has had anything near this level of repetition. I’ve knitted a couple of my own sweater designs twice, as well as a couple of scarves, but socks really seem like one of the few items you can repeat as many times as you want without any real concern, am I wrong?

DSC_6621

I do like the repetition, anyway. Socks are one of those things you just need to be able to slip on and know how they’re going to feel on your feet, so I’m definitely in favour of sticking with a good pattern & yarn combo once you know you’ve found one you like.

What’s your favourite sock pattern & yarn combination? Have you got multiple pairs of the same sock in your dresser drawer at home? If so then I know I’m in good company. Happy knitting this fine Thursday!

*

Pattern: Jaywalkers (Ravelry link), pattern by Grumperina originally featured on Magknits, now free on Ravelry
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘mineshaft’

*

 

 

*

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “The latest

  1. Claudia

    I have a Theresa Gaffey sock pattern (The Yarnery in St. Paul MN) that I bought when I took my first sock knitting class. I’ve been knitting it ever since…for me, my husband, grown son, friends and family (2×2 ribbed leg , heel flap, gusset, foot, toe). That said, I love trying new sock patterns and Jaywalkers have been added to the mix and are proving to be quite popular. New favorite yarn at the moment is Opal…any art series.

  2. Two of my favorite sock patterns that I’ve knit more than once are Monkey by Cookie A, and Cotty by IrishGirlieKnits – both of them work really well for me with lightweight Socks that Rock. Cotty especially, being mostly stockinette, goes quickly but is easy to mark progress with the 4-row lace repeats.

  3. I’m still on the hunt for “the” socks. Yours look great. I might need to give Jaywalkers a try!

  4. I have many pairs of, handmade by me, socks in the drawer….that are never on my feet! Handmade by me, poorly. This past fall I tried a sock pattern by knitting goddess, Susan B Anderson! Hello! “Now I’m happyyyy”

    Thanks for sharing,
    Sheila

    http://sheilazachariae.blogspot.com/2014/05/knitted-arm-warmers-kit.html

  5. I have the worst time making socks. I can’t get the whole heel turn down.

  6. I’m on my 6th pair of socks this year (Show off a Strand or some such) and am casting on another pair of Jaywalkers next. They are fabulous and I love them…..for Diana on the heel — I’ve been using the Fish Lips Heel for my past 4 pairs of socks and I’m not looking back!

  7. My favorite sock pattern combo: “A Nice Ribbed Sock” by Glenna C :-) and lightweight Socks That Rock or String Theory Bluestocking. The sock always fits.

  8. My favourite sock pattern is one I knit for my husband; well there are actually 2 I prefer for him. One is Valerie’s Rivverun, the other is called Scott Base. For me I flit from pattern to pattern cos I want all the socks!

  9. anastasia

    I like Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s basic sock recipe in Regia sock yarn. Jaywalkers is one pattern I have been waiting to get around to. Kate Atherly also makes a good sock pattern. I have a few lined up.

  10. Pingback: The latest | Knitting For Baby

  11. I also like to repeat patterns when it comes to socks. Why? I think the answer is logical when a pattern works one has always the option to vary with different yarns. That’s why I love to repeat sock patterns. Kindest bjmonitas

  12. For me it’s probably Monkey by Cookie.a too, in all kinds of yarns, I don’t stick to one. I’ve made 4 pairs of monkeys so far and keep eyeing up other yarns in my stash for more of them.

  13. Jeanette

    My favourite pattern is A Nice Ribbed Sock. Always fits perfectly. I just change yarn and needle size.

  14. Gorgeous! Mineshaft is one of my faves from Lorna’s.

  15. You’re absolutely correct. My husband likes brightly colored socks, but he always always always wants them ribbed. I do a broken rib that is one round in all knit and the next in k3, p1. It’s good that he likes color or I’d never knit socks for him!

  16. Oh those are loooovely :-)
    The neutrals work so well – I keep meaning to knit another pair of Jaywalkers as any yarn works with that pattern.
    I think one of my favourites is a worsted weight sock pattern – “Bunny Hop Eyelet Top Socks” – they work up really fast and fit perfectly. Not to mention that they are great boot socks for the winter!

  17. So right about repeatable socks! My fav pattern is Dragonfly Socks by Jocelyn Sertich, available on Rav.

  18. I have knit So. Many. pairs of garter rib socks. Super simple and works in a lot of yarns.

  19. Elaine

    I like knitting plain ribbed socks so you’re not alone. They’re comfy, look good in the fancy yarns I enjoy knitting, and fit reliably.

  20. I feel about Broadripple (from Knitty) the way you feel about Jaywalkers. It knits fast, fits well and looks great with stripes or variegates. I’ve knit it many many times.

  21. I don’t think I’ve ever knit the same sock pattern twice… I’ve started a few, but have not actually finished a repeat pair.

  22. Laura Walters

    I have only knitted a sock pattern twice. I have a “thing” for making up my own private sock clubs. I just designated the yarns for 12 pair from “Think Outside the Sox.” I’ve done a year of Nancy Bush. It works for me to have the variety and the planned surprise.

  23. My favourite so far for me is the Arch-shaped sock, while a plain sock with Sweet Tomato Heel or the Thuja pattern are my go-to designs for hubby’s feet – 6 or 8ply only, no way am I knitting for his feet in fingering-weight!

  24. Hermione’s Everyday Socks are my go-to pattern. And there are so many great sock yarns, I have never really found a favourite…with Cashmere, I like indigodragonfly’s MCN (Mergoat) Sock and without…I’d probably say Tanis Blue Label.