This time last week

This time last week I was in the middle of the longest day ever stuck at Dulles airport with a flight that was cancelled, rescheduled, delayed and then more delated. Which (surprise!) is pretty much the worst way ever to start out your week. But, the weekend trip that preceded the airport crud-fest was the nicest, and pretty much involved as much friendly knitter hangout time as possible.

(My trip on the way there was actually just fine and I even did a bit of on the spot spit-splicing whilst knitting away on my sweater sleeve. Good times.)

Untitled

I stayed with knitter pal Gwen, whose dog is pretty much the nicest guy on four legs.

June12-Moose1

We chatted and knitted, and took a bit of time out on Saturday to visit her rec centre pool which was so nice I momentarily considered moving to Maryland.

Untitled

Untitled

I had a full day of touristy wanderings on Friday and checked out a bit of DC, and the weather was several degrees warmer and sunnier than it has yet been here in southern Ontario, and it was pretty cool remembering what summer is going to feel like when we finally get it here. (Spoiler alert: it’s going to be great.)

June12-UnionStation1

June12-NBM2

And on Saturday evening the knitters gathered, and ate guacamole and had margaritas, and chatted about books, and caught a show of ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ at the movies, and lo, it was good.

Untitled

And I also finished a pair of socks. Bonus! So basically I have my summer to-do list all prepped as a result: more knitting, more books, and more margaritas. Am I missing anything? Summerrrrrr, bring it on.

I hope your week ahead is a good one and has some sunshine in it!

*

*

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “This time last week

  1. Ellen

    In our family we consider the Dallas airport to be cursed, and avoided at all costs. Considering our whole family, adult daughters included, probably 50% of all flights are delayed, cancelled, or in some way problematic. The best solution is to never go there again! Glad you made it home

  2. Glad you made it home safe and had a good time

  3. Pingback: This time last week | Knitting For Baby

  4. That looks like a great trip! I keep meaning to see “The Fault in our Stars”… hmm, maybe in the next few weeks :-)

  5. Gwen

    Yayyyyy so glad you came. That fantasy of moving to Maryland can come true, you know… I can think of a certain dog who would be VERY pleased… :)

  6. Fun! I just visited DC for the first time a few weeks ago, and I loved it too :)

  7. knittedblissjc

    your photos look awesome, and I love that giant stone bowl of guacamole. :D

  8. Having spent 16 summers in DC, I don’t miss the heat and humidity one bit, and I’m totally happy to be back in Ontario (at least until January rolls around). Although I miss the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival, I get to wear my knits so much more here.

  9. dclulu

    If you were here last weekend, you got about the best weather we’ve had in the 15 years I’ve lived in DC! Lucky you!

  10. You picked a great weekend to be in the area – much drier and cooler than it had been!

  11. Yuck to the airport bit, but otherwise that all sounds pretty good. :-)

Leave a Reply

