Daily Archives: July 21, 2014

July, what’s up?

So, I spent the first week of July in California (San Francisco area) and it was lovely and sunny and pleasant temperatures, and I was fully prepared to come back and report on how I made it to a yarn store even though I hadn’t originally thought I would (2 skeins of Madelinetosh sock followed me home from Article Pract in Oakland – I couldn’t very well buy only one and leave the other one all lonely, now could I?).

Madtosh sock

And I was also going to talk about how I got to see Lake Tahoe for a bit, and it’s just as pretty and alpine as everybody says (there are photos of it somewhere on a camera, um…somewhere…), andΒ even with a cell phone camera it still looks like this:

20140703_133237

Then I was going to say that I even got some reading in (although it turns out that even if you read a tidy 50 pages a day for a week you will still only be halfway through The Luminaries, but it’s an engaging read so that’s not bad) which meant that most of the knitting I got done was my latest Lorna’s Laces jaywalkers. They’re done now though, and are pair #4 of this year’s sock drawer replenishment. (I may need to start doing more careful sorting of the sock drawer to make sure they all fit in there).

DSC_0160

What actually happened is that I arrived home to discover, in my (and everyone else in the household’s) absence, that a toilet hose had gleefully disconnected itself and caused a whole bunch of damage. So then for a while I wasn’t actually living in my house, and here we are 2 weeks later and the repairs are hopefully actually starting soon.

So it’s been a rather disorienting couple of weeks, but I have at least had the knitting in hand which is a good thing, and maybe August won’t be so bad? Let’s hope.

I hope you have a good Monday, knitter friends!

*

Pattern: Jaywalkers (Ravelry link), pattern by Grumperina originally featured on Magknits, now free on Ravelry
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘ghoul’s gala’ colourway, now re-released as ‘ascot

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized