July, what’s up?

So, I spent the first week of July in California (San Francisco area) and it was lovely and sunny and pleasant temperatures, and I was fully prepared to come back and report on how I made it to a yarn store even though I hadn’t originally thought I would (2 skeins of Madelinetosh sock followed me home from Article Pract in Oakland – I couldn’t very well buy only one and leave the other one all lonely, now could I?).

Madtosh sock

And I was also going to talk about how I got to see Lake Tahoe for a bit, and it’s just as pretty and alpine as everybody says (there are photos of it somewhere on a camera, um…somewhere…), and even with a cell phone camera it still looks like this:

20140703_133237

Then I was going to say that I even got some reading in (although it turns out that even if you read a tidy 50 pages a day for a week you will still only be halfway through The Luminaries, but it’s an engaging read so that’s not bad) which meant that most of the knitting I got done was my latest Lorna’s Laces jaywalkers. They’re done now though, and are pair #4 of this year’s sock drawer replenishment. (I may need to start doing more careful sorting of the sock drawer to make sure they all fit in there).

DSC_0160

What actually happened is that I arrived home to discover, in my (and everyone else in the household’s) absence, that a toilet hose had gleefully disconnected itself and caused a whole bunch of damage. So then for a while I wasn’t actually living in my house, and here we are 2 weeks later and the repairs are hopefully actually starting soon.

So it’s been a rather disorienting couple of weeks, but I have at least had the knitting in hand which is a good thing, and maybe August won’t be so bad? Let’s hope.

I hope you have a good Monday, knitter friends!

*

Pattern: Jaywalkers (Ravelry link), pattern by Grumperina originally featured on Magknits, now free on Ravelry
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, in ‘ghoul’s gala’ colourway, now re-released as ‘ascot

*

*

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “July, what’s up?

  1. Jenn

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. Its never fun to come home from a vacation to find a mishap at home. :( On a better note, I whipped up a lovely pair of your “nice ribbed sock” during my vacation. I modified slightly to make an ankle sock. Should you want to take a gander, I’m jennycreamale on Ravelry. Thanks for such a great pattern! :)

  2. A disconnected toilet hose (gleefull or not) is nasty, however: I love the way you write! Today’s blog post was a treat

  3. Connie

    What a mess. This sounds awful.

  4. We shut off the water when we go on holiday! Just the same, lovely post.
    Sheila

    http://sheilazachariae.blogspot.com/2014/07/autumn-baby-blanket.html

  5. Laura Sahlberg

    That is the very reason I turn off the water whenever I go away. I don’t need any surprises like that. I hope everything is repaired soon, and you can back to sorting your sock drawer.

  6. 379christy

    I had a lovely time in NoCA the same time you were there. I likewise came home to needing repairs, fortunately not the water kind. On the good side of travel time, I likewise got some knitting done and have since kept busy with baby cardigans to trade for hair color and cut. Hope your August is much less stressful. Thanks for the introduction to the yarn shop in Oakland. I will visit next time I am with my sister who lives in Oakland!

  7. Oh no! I hope there is lots of knitting to keep you company until everything is sorted out!

  8. Caitlyn M.

    I was so sorry to hear about your plumbing troubles when they first popped up on your Twitter feed, but it’s good to know that the knitting has been there to buoy your spirits. I look forward to seeing the metamorphosis of that MT Sock into something cheerful and warm.

    Speaking of traveling, I’ll be spending a week in August visiting the Niagara Falls area and plan to make at least one day trip up to Toronto, so I’ll be sifting through your archives for recommendations for LYSs, cafes, pubs, and whatnot to visit while I’m there. I can’t wait to get my hands on some of the luscious Canadian yarns you use!

  9. Sounds like you had a good trip, and I love that new yarn that followed you home.
    Sorry about the plumbing issue – I have always wondered why pipes break when people aren’t home? It is like they are punishing you for going off and leaving them.

    I hope it gets fixed soon -

  10. Both yarns in your pictures are such beautiful colours! Just what I’d choose ;)

  11. twistedsticks

    yup same here we turn off the water just in case! Sorry to hear about your troubles. Never a good thing to come home to.

    Socks are beautiful and so is the yarn!!

    Hopefully your future looks brighter!

  12. Pingback: July, what’s up? | Knitting For Baby

  13. Nasty! Hope it’s fixed soon. x ps LOVE the colour of the Madelinetosh yarn!!!

  14. BlueLoom

    Just working on my first pair of Jaywalkers. What a great way to show off a variegated yarn. Mine is handspun BFL superwash.

    Our plumbing disaster was a 2nd floor bathtub leaking thru the walls & onto the basement floor. Had to tear apart the first floor bathroom to get to the leak area of the 2nd floor tub. Luckily, we weren’t out of town, but it still took both the plumber and the two of us 10 days to locate the problem. Six weeks and lots of insurance bickering later, it was all repaired.

    Nothin’ like an old house for producing surprises like this.

  15. We turn ours off too when we leave.. which really bothered the police and insurance agents..when our copper pipes were stolen..it was very tidy for us and the thieves..things happen and steal your vacation calm…sorry this did..SO what do you do with socks that are sorted out..assuming they have holes and such..I can’t seem to toss them..memories are in them!

  16. Sue H

    Well, CRUD! How awful to come home to such a mess. Thank goodness you’ll have your pictures to remind you how much fun you had and all the calm you once had! Enjoy those socks!

  17. Oh man. It sounds like an awesome vacation, but what a lousy thing to come home to. Hope everything’s settling back to normal now!

  18. Oh my! I hope nothing was too damaged or destroyed! At least it wasn’t winter and everything was frozen instead. I think liquid water is easier to clean up than frozen water (at least in my experience!).

    It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation none-the-less and it does seem like you had a wonderful time.

  19. Beautiful yarn, beautiful views, and beautiful socks!

  20. I really liked The Luminaries :)