Daily Archives: September 6, 2006

London, dahling

I’ve managed to score a brief internet connection at my friend S’s place, where I’ve been for the last 2 days. I’ll be carrying on to a different place for the rest of my trip so I thought I’d take advantage and make a quick post. Who knows when I’ll have a good internet spot again! ;) Also, allow me to say how pleased I am that I was allowed my bamboo DPNs on the plane. You should have seen the jealous looks I got from a group of senior ladies behind me in the hour-long customs and immigration lineup at Heathrow.

I was a dutiful knitter and made some yarn crawl stops on my first day in London (yea verily, my first day – I was on about 2 hours of sleep and a lot of caffiene and sugar, but I made it through until midnight for some uknown reason. There but for the grace of Coca-cola and Starbucks went I.)

First, allow me to heartily recommend Stash Yarns. Some photos that show off the beauty:

(That’s my jacket and sock-in-progress draped over the chair and table.)


Michelle was very welcoming and chatted with me as I fondled all the lovely yarns, then invited me to sit with a drink and knit if I wanted to. And, since I didn’t have anything else to do and was suitably jet-lagged to be in a highly suggestible state, I did just that. So we conferred on sock knitting, how neat the Yarn Harlot is, the latest knitting mags, and I watched as a few other customers popped in and were attended to. They stock all the good stuff, and I managed to get away with only a couple of Lorna’s Laces skeins and some Debbie Bliss, but there is Fleece Artist, Blue Sky Alpacas, Rooster (a UK line I hadn’t heard of), Malabrigios, and much more.

I also did the check-in at John Lewis and Liberty (picture below).


I may go back to Liberty and have a look at the bath and home section, but I didn’t buy any yarn at either place. They both have a fairly comprehensive selection of Rowan, Debbie Bliss, and Jaeger, but little else. I have to say also that Liberty’s does have beauty on its side – the building is gorgeous both inside and out.

And now I have heard from a friend of S that there are some other knitting stores to check out, so I may swing by I Knit London which has apparently just opened.

Happy Knitting to one and all!

5 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism, yarn stores