Daily Archives: October 26, 2006

Pomatomus pride

The sound you hear is me collapsing with a sigh of relief.
(They’re done! They’re done!)

These are my finished Pomatomuses (Pomatomi?)

(Pomatomus socks, pattern free at Knitty by Cookie A., knit on 2.75 mm DPNs with Patons Kroy Socks, winter eclipse colourway)

This is the yarn that I had left:

(Excuse me, I have to lie down for a moment.)

This is how much of them most people will see, but I will know the truth that lies beneath the denim:

(Such modest toes from such hard labour)

Overall, I’m pleased with how these socks turned out, but boy howdy did the pattern challenge me. Additionally, by some strange twist of fate, I finished the 1st sock with about 3 yards of yarn to spare (a whole 3 yards! party!), but ran out of the 2nd ball halfway through the toe of the 2nd sock. (Those with size 11 feet – beware! Extra yarn is your friend!) I finished the toe with every little last scrap of yarn I had left. (For those curious – Yes, my gauge was the same on both socks, and yes, I stopped the foot pattern at the same place on both socks. I’m not sure what happened.)

Whee! And *phew* – a finished pair of socks just in time to count for my October “Sock a Month” Knitalong entry. What socks next, what socks next… ;)

8 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks, socks