Daily Archives: October 29, 2006

TTC Knit-a-long

On Saturday I joined the West Team for the TTC Knit-a-long. It was a fun time.

(Note: I haven’t gone and asked individual permission to post photos, so if there is anyone pictured here who would prefer not to be, please let me know right away and I’ll take down the photo.)

Lady Octavia and I (sorrily late, we missed the 9am start at the Drake cafe) waited forlornly outside the Knit Cafe on Queen St. until we saw a group of transient knitters walk by.


We were united then, and so continued on the streetcar to Romni Wools since the Knit Cafe didn’t open until noon.

At Romni, there was much ogling of yarn and decision-making to do.



Attempted shoplifting…


Some knitting…


And kidnapping new knitters.


Then we carried on for a break at The Second Cup, where we blythely commandeered a whole table and paid no heed to confused looks from lined-up coffee patrons.


There was more knitting when we eventually headed back to the Knit Cafe…



And then we made it to Lettuce Knit in bits and pieces after lunching on Spadina. Good times had by all. Even the kitty, I think, whose ears received many little scratches from me.


I did not make it out unscathed, but I didn’t go too overboard. My wee haul included 2 Philosopher’s wool skeins, a ball of Austermann Step, and 2 Fortissima Color solids from Romni, and 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces from Lettuce Knit.


I’d like to spend the rest of the weekend just ogling my new yarn, but that would drastically cut into my knitting time.

3 Comments

Filed under knitting tourism, yarn stores