Daily Archives: March 2, 2007

My feet are wet

And have been since I left the house this morning – albeit I left a little more late and slow than I should have. But can you blame me? The Yarn Harlot’s post today pretty much sums up the state of our fair city today. Slush slush and more slush and puddles the size of Texas. We had an insta-blizzard yesterday, followed by a huge melt this morning, and now there’s ankle-deep water and slush all over the place. In a lot of spots it’s easier to walk on the road – except for where the road is completely covered over by miniature lakes and ice-floes, of course.

On the other hand, I’m glad I brought my camera with me. Some of it was darned near pretty:

(A blue sky reflected)

Where the water was able to reach the sewers, it was running fast in rivulets down the pavement.

(The sun came out for a while, too.)

It’s going to freeze again tonight, so heaven help my walk to the grocery store tomorrow. I’m going to pray REALLY hard for a huge gust of wind to come along and dry up all the wet patches. And for the second Friday night in a row, I have a date with a really addictive sweater:

(EBTKS, completed if crumpled body and the beginning of one sleeve. And my copy of Brideshead Revisited, which I’m now 2 days late on finishing for Knit the Classics – another weekend project.)

Happy weekend! May you not be frozen or in danger of being drowned in slush.

7 Comments

Filed under everything but the kitchen sink, weather