Do they make kilts that go with this colour?

Les-voila:

KiltHoseFO1

Pattern: ‘Highland Schottische Kilt Hose’ from Folk Socks by Nancy Bush.
Yarn: Apple Laine Apple Pie sock yarn, in ‘aubergine’, 4 skeins
Needles: 2.75 mm DPNs
Cast On: May 13, 2007
Cast Off: May 31, 2007
Notes: As soon as I saw Terhi’s beautiful execution of this pattern, I knew I had to have some on my own. Seeing these socks on someone’s feet makes all the difference.

I did add some length in the leg to accommodate my height (I’m 5’9″ and also wear size 11 shoes), and I did not use most of the 4th skein but did definitely need it as the 3rd skein only got me as far as the gusset on the 2nd sock.

The pattern wasn’t too challenging for anyone familiar with socks already. The biggest challenge is the lacy pattern in the cuff, but once the cuff is done then it’s straight on in the moderate lace rib and a few decreases, and before you know it you’re working the heel flap and gussets.

The yarn has a slight halo due to some mohair content, but the feel is gorgeous thanks to a bit of silk and nylon. I blogged in a previous post about my concerns with the dye consistency in the yarn, however, as 3 of these 4 skeins had patches with small dark stripes in the yarn (I suspect you can see this effect on the FOs if you look out for it), as well as several joins. As a result I am hesitant to use this yarn again, save for the remaining 3 skeins I own. But if the dye inconsistencies can be resolved in the Apple Laine production – wowzers, what a gorgeous yarn. You’ll want to pet it.

And now to conclude with a mini kilt hose picspam:

KiltHoseFO4

 


 

KiltHoseFO6

 


 

KiltHoseFO2

I think it is safe to say I will be knitting more Nancy Bush socks in the future. Also, more knee socks, and I will now have to go make sure my skirts and shoes are suitable to be worn with knitted garments of this station. ;)

15 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks

15 responses to “Do they make kilts that go with this colour?

  1. Gorgeous! I had just resolved not to buy any more sock knitting books until I was abler to actually get through a few patterns in the ones I have. You, my friend, are an enabler of the most devious type!

  2. Glenna, those stockings are beyond stunning, they wouldn’t look half bad with my kilt either…(Clan Gunn)…ok, a bit too purple perhaps….I should knit me some kilt hose!

  3. Cyn

    I’ve never knit socks but those are tempting me to! They look gorgeous.

  4. Wow. Those are lovely — I’ve never really thought about kneesocks before, but those are really tempting!

  5. Love them. I am sure you could find a kilt to complement, if not match! I really enjoyed knitting these too. I didn’t make any modifications though I could have made them longer. I asked for measurements and made them to order, but they still could have been slightly taller. Photos upcoming…with kilt!

  6. Rebecca

    Amazing job! You’ve outdone yourself. And i’ve been itching to make knee high socks. this might push me over the edge :)

  7. Gorgeous!
    Now I have to go out and find that sock book… and then do some weird exercises for the next 6 months to get shapely calves to replace these elephant stumps. Though that might not be as hard as you going out and finding a purple kilt. I suppose you could make one…

  8. That colour is absolutely gorgeous! I’m envious – they look like they fit really well. :) The yarn looks scrumptious too…
    Well done!

  9. Ooh they make me want to dance a ceilidh right now. That colour is so rich and sumptuous. Brilliant!

  10. Lady O

    What fabulously sexy socks!!

    (Black Watch might work….)

  11. Gorgeous socks! These are really lovely!

    How about a dress purple stewart or purple menzies. Some argyle socks are on my site with these tartans.

  12. those are kiltastic!!! They look great in purple and you show them off with style! Aren’t knee socks the best!!!

  13. Em

    Great Socks! I love knee-highs, and the cuff of those kilt hose is fantasic!

  14. Those are beautiful, Glenna! I love the color, and it looks like you did a great job with the calf shaping. Yay, knee socks!

  15. These are gorgeous! I cast on for a stripey pair yesterday for my husband – it must be love!