Daily Archives: November 4, 2007

Well would ya lookie there

So, last night I had some friends over for dinner (and learned that if you are going to have appetizer, soup, pasta, salad, and dessert – which is cheesecake – it really is quite all right to spread dinner out into a 5-hour experience), and then checked my internets before tumbling into bed (thank you daylight savings for the extra hour OMG), and I had a few comments in my inbox letting me know that, hey! November Magknits had arrived! And well would ya lookie there, I’m in it! I knew it was going to happen, but I’d somehow managed to misfile that information in my brain and so now it is sort of a pleasant surprise. Thanks, Magknits!

Basic Black

You may have noticed that Basic Black does not come with a whole lot of pizazz or bells and whistles or anything overly complex or groundbreaking. And that is exactly the way I wanted it to be. I wanted a sweater that wouldn’t scare anybody away. I wanted a basic, light layer, with maybe a bit of a wider v-neck and a bit of shaping and cropped sleeves to take it into the modern era in classic sort of way, and that was that. I like it, and so does my mom, so it has managed to please at least 2 generations in my family so far if that counts for anything ;)

I used Plymouth Wildflower DK because it was accessible to me at the time and it came in a wide range of colours, but really, just about any DK yarn that maintains its integrity pretty well (i.e. that will not droop too horribly) would work just fine. A note on yarn selection: if you intend this sweater to be machine-washable-dryable, make sure you wash and dry your swatch beforehand so that you get an idea of how the finished fabric will behave afterwards. Some machine-washable-dryable yarns do actually shrink up slightly post-drying, which makes it desirable to knit a few extra rows in key places so that the shaping still sits where you want it to sit. I suspect that knitters will also want to make adjustments depending on their height; for example if you are quite petite, even a 12-inch sleeve might not be quite cropped enough, or if you are particularly on the tall side you may want some extra length pre- and post-waist-shaping, so get out the measuring tape and see what works best for you.

I hope you enjoy! I’m already planning on queuing up a ‘Basic Pink’ for myself the spring. For now, though, I have some seasonal patterns that are distracting and enticing me. Little Gems Mitts, anyone? December Lights Tam? Maybe I can just sneak in one of those this week, surely my other WIPs won’t notice…And maybe another slice of cheesecake too… ;)

36 Comments

Filed under design, finished object: sweater, free pattern