Daily Archives: January 30, 2008

I am knitting socks

Since this morning I haven’t been able to stop feeling chilly, have sneezed more times than I can count, and I am afeared that The Cold that has been circulating has finally reached me. I’ve managed to do the bare minimum of things that could qualify as ‘work’, and since it’s officially mid-afternoon I have scheduled the rest of the day with knitting, hot tea, and vitamin C tablets in an effort to head any Cold off at the pass.

Technically, I did start Venezia on Sunday night. I say ‘technically’, because while I did in fact cast on and accomplish a few rows of the stockinette that will become the turned hem, I haven’t moved any farther on it and am letting it sit and wait a bit longer before I call it a full-fledged Work In Progress. So, instead, I am knitting socks.

Photobucket

Finally, I have dipped into my Rhinebeck purchases from October, with the ‘Garnet Dreams’ shade of Socks That Rock Mediumweight. I started these last Friday morning on the bus into Toronto, which followed a period in which I – wait for it – had no Works In Progress whatsoever. I know, I almost stun myself to think about it. OK, sure, those hours were between Thursday night and Friday morning and therefore largely spent sleeping, but since I can’t actually remember the last time I had no WIPs I feel it is still a moderate accomplishment.

So I am going to just go with the STR and work on these knee socks for a bit and see how project monogamy treats me this week. After finishing a few projects in January I have a bit of that knitting whiplash, and stockinette is suitably mindless. This is Knee Sock #1, just past the leg shaping decreases. In a few more inches I can start the heel and then I’ll be in foot country. Foot country’s my favourite kind of sock country.

If I can stop sneezing, at least. ;)
Stay warm!

13 Comments

Filed under socks