Daily Archives: May 20, 2008

Onwards

Long time no blog. I’m going to rectify that starting this week!

So, last weekend I finished spinning and plying up my third attempt with the drop spindle – I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. Plying has mostly been Very Not Fun, but it’s getting easier. Fleece Artist Merino/Alpaca Sliver, and I turned it into about 90m of something worsted-ish:

Drop3-May11

What else, what else…Oh right! Last Thursday I defended my thesis. (For the final time). It went well and overall I’m still a bit bewildered at the thought of being able to put the PhD behind me. I’ve gotten so used to it being there and being not done, you know? So, there will be a bit of wrap-up before I hand it in and then I’d like to chill for a bit before getting back to more job applications and wrestling with publications.

And also I’d like to knit a lot. With drinkies. (Well-wishers please send wine and yarn.) ;)

Catch ya again later on in the week!

[EDIT: If you're in Toronto, and want to come celebrate with me and a few knitterly friends later this week - send me an email (crazy[dot]knitting[dot]lady[at]gmail[dot]com), and I’ll send you details on when and where! Naturally this invitation does NOT apply to any psycho internet stalkers of course, only regular friendly knitters, heh heh heh.]

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized