Daily Archives: June 22, 2008

Keeping it Simple

Back when I was Miss Beatrice‘s roomie for several months, I did a bit of kitty knitting. After a bit of practice I discovered that any bit of snugly knit stockinette wool, folded over and stuffed with yarn scraps and catnip, pretty much did the trick. And then there is also that Log Cabin Blanket that took much of my knitting sanity, which is still over in Beez’s house since Someone likes to nap on it and I’m not yet desperate to have it back.

But Miss B also had a long bit of rope that she liked to chase after, which she promptly made disappear some time after I arrived, so I fixed that by braiding together some long lengths of yarn, the same chunky wool that I did the Moderne Log Cabin with. It did the trick but (this, the thing with no knitting in it whatsoever) has apparently become a much coveted toy ever since the new recruits arrived.

Photobucket

(Ramona apologizes for being a little blurry). So, naturally I got out some doubled lengths of yon Patons Classic Merino and commissioned Long String Toy: The Sequel.

Photobucket

This afternoon I went over for a hello and the feline residents were in a nappish sort of state. Beatrice greeted me and said “well yes but what do I get for being BOTH a gorgeous kitty AND not having tried to kill the new young twerps in at least a week?”

Photobucket

“Hmm…” [bite] “This is satisfactory.”

Photobucket

And then we had a play.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And lo, it was good.

15 Comments

Filed under cats