12 of 12 – July

Back in the fall I started doing the 12 of 12, but have forgotten about it the last few times. Not this month! Ha ha! I remembered this time!

In case you’re just tuning in, the 12 of 12 is a blog project where you take 12 pictures during your day on the 12th of the month, then post them on your blog with times and captions. This time the 12th was on Saturday, the day when I went off with my famiy for our annual trip to Stratford, Ontario, for the theatre festival. Here’s how the day went. (Um, better 3 days late than never, right?)

7:30am – Mmm, I love a basket of sock yarn in the morning. I’m gradually knitting through this stuff, I promise. It’s been fun to collect.

Photobucket

8:15am – Off for a run before things get going. New podcast to listen to, thank goodness! Some days a new podcast is what gets me out the door.

Photobucket

10:00am – Packing for the trip – 1 overnight. I stuck ‘Cause Celeb’ in there at the last minute since I’d just finished a book and needed something quick. I borrowed CC about 2 years ago and still haven’t finished it. In fact, I think I need to re-read it from the beginning because I’ve forgotten what happened in the part that I read.

Photobucket

11:15am – At R & P’s, with whom Martha and I will be riding on the way to Stratford. (Meanwhile mom and dad jet off separately to drop luggage at the B&B while our job upon arrival is to find a picnic spot.) Martha was playing with Ramona, one of the cats, who jumped for the toy just at the moment I clicked for the photo. She was suitably transformed into a whisp of blurry white.

Ramona the Cat - jumps for toy!

1:00pm – In Stratford now, by the river. I thought these ducks had the right idea.

Photobucket

2:00pm – Just before the play started. First up was ‘The Trojan Women’, which was great in a soul-crushing, hope-killing sort of way. (It’s OK though, we finished with ‘The Music Man’, which was more with the ‘up’).

Photobucket

4:30pm – Some post-play shopping, at a favourite tea place. All the different kinds of loose tea you could want. Patricia and Martha each got a selection too, and Martha even got her very own teapot with loose tea diffuser built right in. ‘Tea restores’, I said after the play. Patricia looked at me and I added, ‘Martinis can restore also,’ and that sounded like a good plan too.

Photobucket

5:00pm – Checkerboard tables outside Family and Company. Martha and I played. Here, I am red and about to get ‘kinged’. I won, which is highly unusual since i have lingering memories of losing about a bazillion checkers games when i was little, and as a result I hardly ever want to play as an adult.

Photobucket

5:15pm – At Watson’s bazaar, where you can get 101 interesting things for your home. I got a large cup and saucer and the coolest new wallet ever. And these cats just come with the ambiance. They are totally in their own little world and will let you pet them but mostly are happy to sleep the day away on the counter.

Photobucket

6:30pm – At dinner. Yum, pizza. Mine had sausage, goat’s cheese, peppers, and arugula on top.

Photobucket

7:50pm – Entering the Festival theatre for the evening show. It’s been a long hard day of being Stratford tourists!

Photobucket

Next post: a return to regularly scheduled knitting content.

12 Comments

Filed under 12 of 12

12 responses to “12 of 12 – July

  1. Love the photos! Stratford is always a good time…. I miss the cross border jaunts I used to have in Buffalo, that being one of them.

  2. Kai

    Sounds, and looks, like you had a fantastic time! I remember spending summer days in Stratford-upon-Avon, back in the UK!! :D

  3. Sounds like a lovely day to me!
    Is that your bedspread? the red and looks like light cream floral fabric? LOVE it!

  4. Looks like a fantastic day! I’m a total sucker for stores with cats in them- I somehow feel compelled to buy something, as if doing so directly contributes to their well being. Sigh, I really am going to get a cat one of these days….

  5. That 12 of 12 thing sounds fun. I’m afraid my 2.5yo would do some damage to the camera if I took it around all day, though. Hmm, maybe I’ll give it a try next month anyway.

    Anyhoo, I read Cause Celeb several years ago and actually liked it a lot. Better than typical chicklit for sure.

  6. How nice to have glimpse into your world!! What a great day: nice cat action too. I think we call arugula ‘rocket’ here!!!

  7. Looks like an all-around fantastic day! The wisp of cat was just too funny :-)

  8. Great day!
    Wow, that pizza looks good :)

  9. Em

    What a lovely day! Do show us your cool finds.

  10. Ann

    Looks like you had a busy day – nice photos!

  11. Theatre, ducks on the river – it’s like you have the same Stratford as we do in the UK! Seems like you had a cool trip, which is all you can ask for really, isn’t it? :D

    Helen (12er)

  12. Meg

    That picture of Ramona is awesome….Ghost Kitty!