Daily Archives: July 29, 2008

Philip’s Socks

When I cast on with the Dream in Color Smooshy, I fell in love. Now that I’ve cast off, the love affair continues! I will definitely be getting more of this in the future. The Masonic Socks are finished, and will be in the hands of their recipient this evening. They’re a bit bigger than my feet need since they are for a male recipient, which is just as well since if they were my size I might be inclined to keep them.

PhillipSocks2b

Check out that yummy stitch definition right there and please to be ignoring the one wee mis-crossed cable it means no harm it just needs love and forgiveness. It’s a bit hard to tell here with the finished socks displayed on my (makeshift coat-hanger) sock blockers, but that single cable runs down opposite sides of the leg and foot on each sock. One for the outside of each instep. The rest of the pattern is a combination of ribbing and hidden garter rib. Mmm.

Pattern: Masonic Socks by Quelle Erqsome Knits.
Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy, in ‘Gothic Rose’
Needles: 2.5mm DPNs
Modifications: I increased the stitch count from 70 to 74. I did this by turning the 4 instances of ‘p1′ in the ribbing in the chart to ‘p2′ instead, and re-centreing the heel so that it would all match up in the end. It’s possible I messed something up, but it looks good and they are symmetrical so I think it’s all OK in the end. If I were making them for me I think I would actually stick with the 70 stitches in the original pattern.

PhillipSocks2

The other, ahm, ‘modification’ was an unintended one. There is supposed to be an inch or so of ribbing at the top of the sock, but I totally missed it. My eyes went right past the ribbing instructions (“cuff”) and started immediately on the ribbing chart instructions (“leg”). Thankfully I think the ribbing has enough snugness on its own and I’m confident they will be worn without slouch.

All in all an attractive pattern, easily memorized, just fiddly enough to be interesting, and worth knitting again. Two thumbs up!

18 Comments

Filed under finished object: socks, socks